The Onion On My Internet Belt

This week I reached a point where I had enough of twitter. On one hand, I have fun and lively conversation with a dozen or more folks there every day. Real people who are clever and interesting. On the other hand, it is like having a toilet in your house that is broken and possessed at the same time so it just shoots diarrhea into the air ALL THE TIME.

So, I undertook what I call The Great Muting. I muted every account that isn’t a person that I have good conversations with. This has had two outcomes. First, I noticed that there are actually only about twenty people who post regularly and that I really chat with, and as a corollary, that I might follow too many political news accounts for my own good.

The second outcome was more subtle and sad. I came across a couple names of folks who have dropped out. People who I emailed with and even sent regular post to. I reached out to one such person via email about a month ago and haven’t heard anything back. It’s a strange feature of modern life how quickly and completely people can vanish. I hope these folks are ok and I miss them.

The MS Ride is on Sunday. Due to the overwhelmingly generous nature of my friends and family, I raised quite a bit of money for the ride (over $1000!) and as such, got an email from the ride organizers. They sent me a special parking pass for the event! I’m very excited about this because if there is one thing that the anxiety tied to my depression latches on to concerns about going places due to possible parking issues. No, this isn’t a reasonable concern but it is one that can quickly overtake me and I find almost impossible to beat when it does. There have been a couple occasions where I didn’t go to events I know I would have enjoyed because this anxiety cowed me in to inaction. The current weather prediction is cool (high of 62F) with a potential for some rain.

My summer schedule officially starts in June but it is customary for me to take the last Friday in May off. I may or may not do that this year. The up side is that there will be at least one more mix before I take my summer hiatus.

Embed from Getty Images

This comes up under a stock photo search for “back half”. Serious.

The theme this week is that all these songs are on the back half of the albums they are on.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… originally mixed the week of 5.18.18.

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Terminal Frost – Pink Floyd – A Momentary Lapse Of Reason.
The Movie – Aerosmith – Permanent Vacation.
This City Never Sleeps – Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This).
Consider Me Gone – Sting – The Dream Of The Blue Turtles.
Lions – Dire Straits – Dire Straits.
Night Flight – Led Zeppelin – Physical Graffiti [Disc 2].
Used To Bad News – Boston – Don’t Look Back.
Scarecrow – Beck – Guero.
Let Me Do It To You – J.J. Cale – Troubadour.
One Rainy Wish – The Jimi Hendrix Experience – Axis: Bold As Love.
Drive In Drive Out – Dave Matthews Band – Crash.
Everysong – Lloyd Cole – Antidepressant.
Moron – Edwyn Collins – Gorgeous George.
Tiny Daggers – INXS – Kick.

Leave a comment