The Onion On My Internet Belt

Shall we board the Wonkatania for another trip down through the dark tunnel where not a speck of light is showing?

I had written a paragraph here about the process of sorting old photos that I am currently engaged in and how much of a drag I find it but that was a drag to read as well so I deleted it. Instead, a word of advice: Work out an active and sustainable way to manage your digital pictures or archiving just becomes the new forgetting.

I built a playlist yesterday that so well captured my current existential state that it made me too sad to listen to it. Never had that happen before.

Training for the MS Ride in May has started in earnest. Getting back into condition hasn’t been as bad as I expected but my knees are certainly showing their age this year. Last night, as I was training, I caught sight of myself reflected in the dark window. A side view of me in lyrca is not flattering and now I feel bad for anyone who has to ride next to me.

Prince’s album “Sign O’ The Times” is now 30 years old. I could write a whole post on my relationship to that album (let me know if you want to read that) but instead, here are, in no particular order, my current ten favorite Prince songs:
-It
-Hot Thing
-Pink Cashmere
-Anotherloverholenyohead
-1000 X’s & O’s
-Electric Chair
-Cloreen Bacon Skin
-Kiss
-Right Back Here In My Arms
-The Ballad of Dorothy Parker

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… originally mixed the week of 3.31.17

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Trails – Mindphaseone – A Wavelength Away.
Shark – Juno Reactor – Bible Of Dreams.
Cliffs – Aphex Twin – Selected Ambient Works, Vol. 2 [Disc 1].
Is This Real – The Future Sound Of London – From The Archives Vol. 1.
Brill Building, 4am – Tear Ceremony – Film Decay.
Second Electronic Setting – Mel Powell – Music for Electronic & Older Instruments.
28 Grams (Original Version) – Loefah & Skream – Derty Rutten Clutter.
Heart Beat, Pig Meat – Pink Floyd – Zabriskie Point .
11 Hundred Hz – Underworld – I’m A Big Sister, and I’m a Girl, and I’m a Princess and This is My Horse.
Lost In Blue – William Orbit – Hinterland.
Sea – Delia Derbyshire – Inventions For Radio Dreams.
Water – SM Project – Elements.
The Rain Falls and the Sky Shudders – Moby – Songs 1993-1998.
Omni 7th – Lloyd Cole – Plastic Wood.
dresden girls – Sonogram – Heartbeat Submarines.

Leave a Reply

