The Onion On My Internet Belt

I’ve been thinking about erosion this week. The eroding of freedom, of friendships, of desire…

One of the reasons I’ve been so aware of the shifting sands is email. There are three people who have died still in my email contacts, a literal dozen who have left the institution I work at, and another dozen for people that I considered friends but I haven’t communicated with in at least a year, if not several years (knowing how unaware of actual time passing I am). Not going to lie to you; Each of these knocks little chips off my heart. I’m not very good at closing doors.

dsc_0497

Shadow Falls in St Paul, MN. Erosion in action.

Been working through a playlist on my ipod called “General Rotation”. Built for the express purpose of being “all the really good stuff that I can play without worrying who will hear it”, it’s 3800 songs long and I’ve been listening specifically to the songs with the fewest number of plays.

I remember the first time I saw the video for Dire Strait’s “Skateaway”. This memory was a bolt from the blue just yesterday as the song came up in “General Rotation”. It was a late winter afternoon in a house overlooking Dorothy Mary Park. The end of the video, the band is in silhouette, a threesome now on this album, with Pick Withers on his way out. Even though the house was full of my friend’s family and an ill-settled schnauzer, the only thing that existed was that video.

Some tracks from Nine Inch Nail’s “The Fragile” also came up. I know immediately that album is more than 17 years old because the first time I listened to it was in a parking lot at the Copacabana Apartments off Duluth Street in Golden Valley where my now wife was living at the time. That album holds up very well, perhaps better than his other works before then. It is also the album that both captures his past and future in one go.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… originally mixed the week of 2.10.17

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Wookie – Paul Thomas – Toolroom Knights 3.0.
Beluga – Embliss – Enchanted EP.
Anylane – Daniele Valle & Emma Clarke – From Beatport.com.
Surface Scan – Spektre – Renaissance: Masters Series James Zabiela.
Southpaw (Fluke’s Glassjaw Remix) – Fluke & Trisco – Southpaw single.
Hijacked (Audiojack Remix) – Johnny Fiasco – Hijacked EP.
Unpredictable Sunday – Matzak – Bring Me the Moon.
Memory Lane Refund (Acid Retraxion Mix) – Mugwamp – Renaissance: Masters Series Dave Seaman.
The Book (Magik Johnson Tribal NZ) – Salt City Orchestra & Magik Johnson – The Book.

Leave a Reply

