The Onion On My Internet Belt

Strap in and hang on. I have little time to write this and I’m coming in hot from an aggressive day. There will be random switchbacks and high-speed non-sequiturs.

This week? Serious this week. Stop it. On so many fronts.

Recontextualization is my favorite artistic tool. Has been since I first learned the name of what I had already been doing for fun (that was a 1 credit studio art discussion class in 1994 btw). Thanks to the New York Public Library and my mounting sense of displeasure with politics in my nation, I bring you this!

nypl-collectionrework4

Keep this close at hand for all of your Twitter and Facebook needs.

On Monday a coworker started a conversation with me about Pink Floyd. They seemed genuinely both shocked and intrigued at how many opinions I had on the topic. Today, all I have listened to has been Pink Floyd. I’m growing in the opinion that “Obscured by Clouds” is one of their best works and that “Dark Side of the Moon” is overrated.

Kiddo came down with both pink eye and strep throat this week. My back freaked out last Saturday and is still giving me trouble. I’m including this section because I am honor bound as a Minnesotan to at least mention the current maladies. I’ll save you the mention of climatic conditions and their impact on people you have never and will never meet.

Did you know the “E” in Chuck E. Cheese stands for “Entertainment”? Now you do.

Next week there will be a first for this space: A guest post!  Talking about old records and music from our youth, Kara Bachman (@80sMomKara).

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… originally mixed the week of 1.27.17

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
You’re Not From Brighton – Fatboy Slim – You’ve Come A Long Way Baby.
Da Bump (Ame Vox Remix) – Mr. V featuring Miss Patty – Da Bump Remix EP.
Humbug (Ft Sakhile Moleshe) – Goldfish – Get Busy Living.
The Longest Road – Morgan Page – Nettwerk 25 Years.
The Shore – Morgan Geist – Double Night Time.
Lights (Bassnectar Remix) – Ellie Goulding – Lights Remix EP.
That’s When I Reach for My Revolver (Moby’s Mix 1 Edit) – Moby – TWIRFMR single.
Syncope (Edit) – Tom Porcell – 50 Trance Tunes.
Waves of Change (Kaskade Dub) – Samantha James – Waves of Change single.
Alone Tonight (Ronski Speed Remix) – Above & Beyond – Alone Tonight single.
A Little Rush (Original Mix) – Christopher Lawrence – A Little Rush single.

Leave a Reply

