The Onion On My Internet Belt

The year is off to a cold start. This cold seems to be effecting my mind as well. I turn the key to crank the old idea engine over, but I’m not getting much beyond a reluctant and rough idle.

Here is the one idea I have that has energy in this cold: Photo management. What do you do with your digital pictures? Do you print anything? If so, what, where, and why? What sort of file structure do you use to store/find them? Do you use a program or app to do this for you? If so, which one? Is archiving the new forgetting? If it doesn’t end up in public is it lost on a backup drive somewhere and if so, is that even a big deal? Will this energy generating this questions last long enough to power my own photo sorting project?

Last week I posted a mix but didn’t tell a lot of folks about it. I had meant to work up a collection of songs as an overview to what I added to the music library for the year but with adding just shy of a thousand songs last year, it turned into a two-part affair. If you haven’t read it, you can find it here and I suggest you read it to give context to the event.

This week, Part 1 goes up. Don’t let the nomenclature fool you. Their order doesn’t matter. What does matter is style. This “Year In Review” mix is electronic and rock oriented. Last week’s is not. Not at all.

Embed from Getty Images

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… 2016 In Review Pt 1 originally mixed the week of 1.6.17

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Restless – New Order – Music Complete.
A Thousand Times More – School Of Seven Bells – SVIIB.
Plasmatic Park – System 7 – Up.
Taxidermia (Magpie Mix) – Amon Tobin – Box Set.
What It Look Like (Todd Edwards Remix) – Spank Rock – Ninja Tune XX, Vol 1.
Snow – Beth Orton – Kidsticks.
1000 X’s & O’s – Prince – HITNRUN Phase One.
Atomic Number – case/lang/veirs – case/lang/veirs.
Bring Me the Disco King – David Bowie – Reality.
Things Left Unsaid – Pink Floyd – The Endless River.
Lila’s Song (Downtempo Mix) – SM Project – Elements EP.
Romancia – Carmen Rizzo – Romancia EP.
Awake – Tycho – Awake.
Inspector Norse – Todd Terje – It’s the Arps EP.
Nightwatchman – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers – Hard Promises.
Obscured By Clouds – Pink Floyd – Obscured By Clouds.
Electric Chair – Prince – Batman.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: