The Onion On My Internet Belt

It is just after midnight on Friday, Jan 30th. I’ve got to drive 3.5 hours tomorrow through the southwest corner of Minnesota. I should be asleep by some estimations but I’ve been off of work for too long to keep a normal schedule. So it goes.

This is good news for you. It means music!

I realized today that I have added 999 songs to my library this year. I haven’t acquired music at this rate in probably 20 years and so I figured it was worth sharing some of this treasury. I don’t like yearly lists. First off, I don’t frame time that way meaning I have no good sense of what has happened in a set calendar year. Too fluid. Second, “best ofs” require me to explain the parameters of that call and I don’t care to do that. Third, I’m not interested in newly released music like I was. New to me is the new that counts.

A lot of the music I acquired this year was on vinyl. I borrowed around 30 records from Centry College and made digital versions for myself and the school. Those albums ran the gamut: chants, native American music, avante garde (notably a John Cage piece that is 12 minutes of feedback), Spanish guitar, classical (Ravel), and early computer music. I also came into a large collection of legacy vinyl that contained all the James Bond soundtracks up to “For Your Eyes Only”. It was a good year for jazz as well.

So, this mix is the good weird stuff. Mostly from vinyl (that means get ready for some pops and skricks). You’ll notice that the title of the mix implies another of this sort, and you would be right. I’m posting this mix first because I want to start next year off on a more electronic and rock note. This year can end with the human voice, the tumult of jazz, and the blues.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… 2016 in Review pt 2 originally mixed the week of 12.30.16

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Dies est laetitiae – Capella Antiqua Münich, Konrad Ruhland – Voices of the Middle Ages: Music From the Gothic Cathedral.
Litany Of Easter Eve – Benedictine Monks Of El Calçat, L’Alumnat Boys’ Choir – Gregorian Chants Grand Prix Du Disque.
O Magnum Mysterium (Cristobal Morales 1500-1553) – The Canby Singers – O Great Mystery: Unaccompanied Choral Music of the 16th & 17th Centuries.
Study No. 8 (Villa-Lobos) – Andres Segovia with String of the Quintetto Chigiano – Castelnuovo/Tedesco (Quintet, op. 143).
Madroños (Torroba) – Julian Bream – Popular Classics for Spanish Guitar.
Festival Sketch – The Modern Jazz Quartet – The Modern Jazz Quartet At Music Inn, Vol. 2.
Big Noise From Winnetka – Bob Crosby – Bob Crosby’s Greatest Hits with the Bobcats.
The Shrike – Pete Rugolo & His Orchestra – $64,000 Jazz.
The Face of the Bass – Ornette Coleman – Change of the Century.
No Room For Squares – Hank Mobley – No Room For Squares.
Asiatic Raes – Sonny Rollins – Newk’s Time.
Laura – Coleman Hawkins – The Hawk Flies High.
Zylophone And Drum – Bilal Abdurahman – African Musical Instruments.
Korea Memorial Song – Willie Horncloud, Ben Sitting Up, Frank Afraid of Horses (Pine Ridge, SD, Oglalla Sioux) – The Great Plains Indian Singers and Songs.
Events For Tape Recorder (Powell) – Mildred Dunnock, Lee Bowman, Martha Scott -Music for Electronic & Older Instruments.
Flash’s Theme – Queen – Flash Gordon.
Peter Gunn – Peter Appleyard & His Orchestra – Percussive Jazz.
Fillet of Soul: New Orleans/Live and Let Die/ Fillet of Soul: Harlem – George Martin –Live and Let Die.
Statesboro Blues – Taj Mahal – Taj Mahal.

Leave a Reply

