The Onion On My Internet Belt

Real winter showed up here in Minnesota this week. We’ve had temps in the low 20s F. For the record, I am very much in the camp that believes climate change is not only real but accelerating. I don’t look forward to hotter summers and less winter. Turns out this overly extended fall contributed to my depression.

Now is the time when I play Christmas records in the office. Last week I mentioned how the turntable (an Onkyo 1010A if you’re curious) needed a new belt. I replaced that on Tuesday and it now tracks like a dream. However… the amp I have been using has given up the ghost*. It’s an Optimus SA-155 that I acquired in ’98. It was not new then. The preamp has gotten strange and the tone control has gone out. A new phono pre-amp and regular amp should be arriving at my doorstep today. As such I am both looking forward to better sound on Monday and worried about getting home as early as possible today.

sa155

The Optimus SA-155 is so old that the speaker outputs are RCA jacks!

*The Ghost of Retail Jobs Past!

1010a

The Onkyo 1010A, re-belted and snazzy!

I’m worried about getting home to check the mail and for packages today because yesterday the dedicated folks at the Woodbury PD left a package for us. It was our mail that had been stolen sometime late last week and recovered in an ongoing investigation in a nearby suburb. So we’ll be double checking out various accounts to watch for identity theft. This makes me worry that a package on the front step is a prime target. I bet the fuckers who stole our mail are the same shitheads who put Chick Tracts* in the mailboxes up and down the road.

*If you don’t know about Jack Chick, good. Save that room in your brain for something good, not hate-filled poorly reasoned trash.

Theory: If you rely on your office to supply you with plastic cutlery on a daily basis you are an asshole. Oh, you may think you are a good person in many ways, but those are superficial. At the base of it you are willing to waste resources because you are too damn lazy to bring a fork. I’ve seen this play out enough times to say, at least by my standards, that this theory holds water.

The mix this week was almost left in the unused file. I have posted three other mixes on the theme of “Space” (when I really get going on an idea sometimes its hard to peel off) but with the passing of John Glenn yesterday, I will dedicate this one to his memory.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…Space V4 for John Glenn originally mixed the week of 12.9.16

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Morning Sun – Plump DJs – Eargasm.
Between Stars – Underworld – Barking.
Sun & Moon – Above & Beyond – Group Therapy.
One Perfect Sunrise – Orbital – Blue Album.
Carry The Sun – The Glitch Mob – Love Death Immortality.
Spaceship (Kris Menace Remix) – Benny Benassi – Spaceship single.
Dogstar – Hybrid – I Choose Noise.
Darkstar – Jackal & Hyde – Mixtress.
I Am A Spaceman – Charlie Clouser – Moog.
We Came From Outer Space – Pet Shop Boys – Relentless.
A Lunar Farewell – Apollo 8 and 11 Astronauts – Space Mission.

Leave a Reply

