The Onion On My Internet Belt

Let’s start with something fun, shall we?

Yesterday I had lunch in the lobby of my building. There are common areas there and in a moment somewhere between eating and reading I overheard this sentence from a young bro across the way: “I don’t have a phone right now so I have to text from my computer.”. I get that I have a strange yearning for obsolete things but having at least some sense of what came before is important.

Less fun…

I’m taking an indefinite semi-sabbatical from twitter. Every time I read my general timeline a sense of existential anxiety overwhelms me. I just can’t take on that much baggage or care that much about decontextualized shouting and pearl clutching. While it is a mild annoyance to not have something to look at on my phone while bored, it is a big deal for me in a communication sense. There are a handful of people who I feel I have become actual friends with in the real sense of that (I’m talking about you Coco, Max, Emma, Renee, Maria, and Leslie!). As such, I’ve created a couple small lists, roughly 15 people total, that I am still actively corresponding with. I have no idea if or when I’ll go back to a larger usage. I believe that anyone who really wants to get ahold of me to chat can without issue.

More fun again!

The Lloyd Cole set at the Dakota last week was all of the things I hoped it would be! While dinner was very expensive and the weather unpleasant, the date night was rejuvenating and the music was fantastic.

lloyd-at-dakota-at-jakerudh

Lloyd Cole at The Dakota, Nov 18, 2016. Photo by @JakeRudh. Our seats were to the right of this, so Lloyd was in profile from our perspective.

Here is the full set list. All the pre-show music was Bowie. All the intermission music was Prince.

Patience
Perfect Blue
Rattlesnakes
Loveless
Sometimes It Snows In April (Prince cover)
I Didn’t Know That You Cared
Love Ruins Everything
“Anywhere but here” (I think this was a cover but I didn’t take good enough notes to place it)
Pretty Gone
My Bag
Downtown
Butterfly
So You’d Like to Save the World
Jennifer She Said
-Intermission, William (his son) comes out to play additional guitar-
Don’t Look Back
Mr Malcontent
Like Lovers Do (with an additional final verse of “I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man”)
Are You Ready to Be Heartbroken?
Cut Me Down
Charlotte Street
Perfect Skin
2CV
Undressed
No Blue Skies
No More Love Songs
Hey Rusty
Brand New Friend
-Encore-
Lost Weekend
Forest Fire

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Lloyd Cole Setlist originally mixed the week of 11.23.16

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Patience – Lloyd Cole – Rattlesnakes.
Perfect Blue – Lloyd Cole – Easy Pieces.
Rattlesnakes (Live) – Lloyd Cole – The Whelan Folksinger Volume 2.
I Didn’t Know That You Cared – Lloyd Cole – Love Story.
Love Ruins Everything – Lloyd Cole – Love Story.
My Bag – Lloyd Cole – Mainstream.
Butterfly (Live) – Lloyd Cole – The Whelan Folksinger Volume 2.
Jennifer She Said – Lloyd Cole – Mainstream.
Don’t Look Back (Live) – Lloyd Cole – The Whelan Folksinger Volume 2.
Mister Malcontent – Lloyd Cole – Mainstream.
Like Lovers Do – Lloyd Cole – Love Story.
Are You Ready To Be Heartbroken? – Lloyd Cole – Rattlesnakes.
Cut Me Down (Live) – Lloyd Cole – The Whelan Folksinger Volume 2.
Charlotte Street – Lloyd Cole – Rattlesnakes.
Perfect Skin (Live) – Lloyd Cole – The Whelan Folksinger Volume 2.
Undressed (Live) – Lloyd Cole – The Whelan Folksinger Volume 2.
No Blue Skies (Skyline mix) -Lloyd Cole -Cleaning Out The Ashtrays [Disc 1].
No More Love Songs (Live) – Lloyd Cole – The Whelan Folksinger Volume 2.
Hey Rusty – Lloyd Cole – Mainstream.
Lost Weekend – Lloyd Cole – Easy Pieces.
Forest Fire – Lloyd Cole – Rattlesnakes.

Comments on: "Texting, Lloyd, and the mix for 11-23-16" (1)

  1. Aw, thank you and back atcha! I feel the same way as you do, but about Facebook. I’m on hiatus from FB and loving it. I feel much calmer without the constant stream of obnoxious memes and fake news and offensive comments. Twitter doesn’t stress me out in the same way — yes, the news is still bad but I have curated a great list of very smart people who can discuss the issues with intelligence, grace, and knowledge (in contrast to the endless shouting of uninformed opinions I find over on FB).

    xo L.

    P.S. Got your tiger postcard — thanks!

    P.P.S. As for the subject of this post, I hope Lloyd comes to Vancouver some time!

Leave a Reply

