The Onion On My Internet Belt

Halloween is rapidly approaching. This is a holiday that I’ve had a traditionally mixed relationship with.

The biggest trouble was being diabetic. The Candy Holiday isn’t a happy one when you are 8 and have to surrender your candy so you don’t eat it all and go into a coma. I’m not mad about it like I was then but it did sting badly for many years.

As an adult I only have two trifling hang ups about Halloween. First, the inconsistent message. “Kids” we say, “don’t take candy from strangers, go knocking on doors out of your neighborhood, and don’t walk in the street wearing dark colors at night… unless it is Halloween. Then do all those things”. Second, I BOUGHT THAT CANDY IT’S MINE! I COMMUTE EVERYDAY TO GET A PAYCHECK AND THIS CANDY IS THE FRUITS OF MY LABOR! MINE!!!

On the plus side: I really enjoy costumes. I like the creative aspect of them. I like the thoughtful theater of it. Cosplay is awesome. My belief is that most of us wear costumes each day but they are much more subtle. I’ve thought about making a few costumes over the years but rarely have because a) I don’t have a call to go cosplaying anywhere other than answering the door for trick-or-treaters once a year and b) while I enjoy the process, it can consume most of my attention pretty easily as I work to be accurate in a costume’s construction.

The best non-built costume I’ve pulled off is Sam Flynn from Tron Legacy. Yes, store bought (and yes I still have it!) but I added to it.

tronoween

Happy Tron-O-Ween!

The best real cosplay was when I dressed as Frank Doyle from the “Thrilling Adventure Hour: Beyond Belief!” podcast on the occasion that I got to meet Paul F. Tompkins and Paget Brewster (the main characters from said podcast).

img_5064-001

Meeting Paget Brewster and Paul F. Tompkins while cosplaying as Paul’s character “Frank Doyle” from The Thrilling Adventure Hour. Yes, I was over the moon!

Other costumes I’ve seriously considered trying to build: Royal Guard from “Jedi”, Stanley Kael from “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory”, The Doctor (John Pertwee era), and The Black Fox from the movie “The Court Jester”.

I only remember one costume from being a kid. In about 5th grade my folks made this awesome fly costume at my request. Big silver Styrofoam wing, extra arms, big compound eyes and everything.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… originally mixed the week of 10.28.16

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Strange Beings – System 7 – Phoenix.
The Mighty Ming (Plump DJ’s Remix) – Brothers Love Dubs – Bedrock Breaks: Heads Down (Disc 1).
Ten (Original Club Mix) – Sander van Doorn, Mark Knight & Underworld – Ten single.
Anti Climax (Original Mix) – OpenAir – Mixtape: Future Funk.
Perfect Motion (Boys Own Mix) – Sunscreem – Renaissance :Mix Collection 10th Anniversary Ed Disc 1.
I Want To Love You (Radio Mix) – The VLP – Big Hard Disk Vol 1.
Roadhouse Blues (Original Dub) – The Doors Vs. The Crystal Method – Drive.
Riding On A Storm – Timo Maas – Music For The Maases [Disc 1].
On the 7th Day – Darren Tate – Horizons, Vol. 02.
Ready Steady Go – Oakenfold – Bunkka.

Leave a Reply

