The Onion On My Internet Belt

It’s officially Autumn now. The stars and the sun say so. As does the calendar on the wall. And a couple of people I asked. That, just like the mashed potato sculpture I made last night, means something.

First it means jacket weather. As I have a love of jackets this is good. Second it means fires in the fireplace [note to self: get fire place fixed]. Third it means that lawn mowing season is almost over. Joy! Somewhere down the list it also means a return to weekly mixes and blogs of which this is the first.

Confession: I’ve got a few other music projects on deck at the moment and I want to do those more than I want to do this one. Do I have time for both? Is my heart so big and my creative power so vast as to be able to house multitudes? We’ll see.

News Things: I’m saturated on politics. I want to the election to happen so we can, as a nation, move forward. I make no bones about being a Clinton supporter. I’m horrified at the prospect that half of this nation could be a basket of misogynist racists but the evidence is there. Even if Clinton wins (which I do honestly hope for) I am very concerned about the unctuous vitriol that will flow towards the women of this nation in both the public and private spheres.

Music Things: My wife cashed in a bunch of her cosmic luck chips and somehow managed to score tickets to the upcoming Prince tribe concert next month. I’m still in disbelief that we are going. Then, a couple days later, I nabbed tickets to see Lloyd Cole at the Dakota in November. I’m giddy about that outing, too.

Speaking of music…

dsc_5579-001

All Time Family Favorites, Volume 2

This is the second in a two part effort spawned by an almost completely worthless record I acquired. The cover art opportunity was simple too good not to recontextualize and release into the word.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… 25 All Time Family Favorites, Vol 2, originally mixed the week of 9.23.16

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Brother And Sister – John Williams – Star Wars Trilogy: The Original Soundtrack Anthology, Disc 4.
Mothers Talk – Tears For Fears – Songs From The Big Chair.
Father Figure – George Michael – Faith.
Brother – Tycho – Past Is Prologue.
Mothers Of The Night – Moby – Last Night.
Sister of Night – Depeche Mode – Ultra.
Mother Of A Dog – ENO & HYDE – Someday World.
Paul Has an Emotional Uncle – Grassy Knoll – III.
Daddy’s Gonna Pay For Your Crashed Car – U2 – Zooropa.
Take Your Momma – Scissor Sisters – Scissor Sisters.
Little Sister – Walt Mink – El Producto.
Mama Kin – Aerosmith – Gems.
Mother’s Daughter – Santana – Abraxas.
Sister Havanna – Urge Overkill – Saturation.
Full On Kevin’s Mom – Soundgarden – Louder Than Love.
Shakespeare’s Sister – The Smiths – Singles.
So Sister – The Verve – Bitter Sweet Symphony [Single].
My Sister – The Juliana Hatfield Three – Modern Rock: The Mid 90s [Disc 2].
Dad I’m In Jail – Was (Not Was) – What Up, Dog?
Something Like A Mama – Underworld – Beaucoup Fish.
Bring My Family Back – Faithless – Sunday 8PM.
Father’s Field – Traci Lords – 1, 000 Fires.
First Death In The Family – The Future Sound Of London – Dead Cities.
The Son Of Flynn – Daft Punk – Tron: Legacy.
Mother Protect – Niki & The Dove – Instinct.

Leave a Reply

