The Onion On My Internet Belt

Yesterday I was home with kiddo. He had a good old case of the mystery vomits. There was a lot of laundry and a lot of hand washing. Anybody who presents parenting as mainly sunshine, daisies, and butter mellow is full of crap. No, it isn’t all horror either. Like all things worth doing it is a long game full of nuance and steady effort. Yesterday just took more effort.

Because of kiddo being sick I had to surrender tickets to the Comedy Bang Bang show at the Pantages Theater and the accompanying date night those tickets were the center piece of. That was the hard part of the day, really. Going out events are rare so one getting cancelled has more impact. There is nothing to do about it but it was a bummer.

Summer has returned in two ways. First, today was the final day of Final Exams here on campus. It’s all over but the shouting. Second, lawn mowing season is back. I’ve been mowing lawns since I was about nine years old. I am looking forward passing that proud tradition down to my son as it was passed to me from my father, unceremoniously and with a certain glee at “no backsies” being called. Trouble is, I grew up with a pool table flat yard. The current yard has a wicked short run hill on the east side of the house. It’s the kind of slope that can flip a mower if done wrong. I have to ask myself how badly I don’t want to mow the lawn and if my desire to be free of this, my least favorite outdoor activity, means I am willing to risk the safety of others. It’s a tough call and the jury is still out.

In college I once did a radio show in which I played the longest songs I could get away with. I had a test the next day and I needed all the time I could get to study. It sort of worked. This mix, while not prompted by the pressing nature of other obligations necessarily, follows that mold. The shortest cut is ten and a half minutes. The longest cut is just under twenty minutes. So, sit back, strap in, and fuzz out.

Embed from Getty Images

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally mixed the week of 5.20.16

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Supernova At The End Of The Universe – The Orb – The Orb’s Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld [Disc 1].
Perimitive (Parts 1 & 2) – Van Basten – Atomic Audio.
Pressure – Spacetime Continuum – Sea Biscuit.
Why Why Why – Underworld – Dubnobasswithmyheadman [Bonus CD].
…And The Day Turned To Night – Shpongle – Are You Shpongled?

Leave a Reply

