The Onion On My Internet Belt

A glimpse behind the curtain: I don’t plan what I write from week to week. Other blogs I’ve done in the past I’ve sat down, written outlines, slaved over ideas and nuance, even to the point of being unable to continue writing because It’s All To Serious And Important. This current incarnation? From the hip. Off the cuff. Extemporaneous (with hardly any proofreading even). Why? Because I’m not interested in writing “think pieces” or even anything that makes you or me work that hard. If I could get away with posting all LOLcatz pictures that told a story, I would. Hopefully, for the core group of about a dozen people who tune in, these posts are mildly amusing and enough to keep us connect, after a fashion.

All I can offer this week within these aforementioned parameters is a series of through shards:
-I don’t care about being “culturally relevant”. I think 40 year old white dudes who care about that are not really a group I want to be part of.
-“New to me” music is equal to “newly released music”.
-I’ve got weak shoulders and all the shoes I really like to wear hurt my back/knees/feet.
-Are you gonna eat that?
-While coming to accept that CDs are a dead medium, what comes after digital because iTunes sure does suck?
-Why can’t I ever remember to bring my reading glasses with me when I go out to eat?
-While both good songs, Phil Collins’ “Take Me Home” is a better song than “In The Air Tonight”.

This week brings us to the 7th edition of Audience Participation (Funk-isms, Part 2) and a mix that is rich with backstory and one that I enjoy in a way and with a purity that is rare these days. I’ll share one backstory from this mix: I was in the room while Lyle Lovett recorded that version of “Private Conversation”.

Embed from Getty Images

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Rock Funk-isims, Originally mixed the week of 4.15.16

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Calling Elvis – Dire Straits – On Every Street.
Sweet Thing – Van Morrison – Best Of Van Morrison.
Wonderful World – Sam Cooke – Billboard Top 100 Of The 1960s.
Private Conversation – Lyle Lovett – Cities 97 Sampler, Vol. 8.
Spike Drivers Blues – Laura Veirs – Two Beers Veirs.
The Nail – Trip Shakespeare – Across the Universe.
A Letter From St. Paul – The Silencers – A Letter From St. Paul.
Go Insane – Lindsey Buckingham – Go Insane.
To Live and Die in L.A. – Wang Chung – To Live and Die in L.A.
Theme From Shaft – Isaac Hayes – Soundtrack to Shaft.
Guns In The Sky – INXS – Kick.
Hot Thing – Prince – Sign O’ The Times [Disc 1].
Third Stone From The Sun – The Jimi Hendrix Experience – Are You Experienced?
Girl Like You – Edwyn Collins – Gorgeous George.
Low – Cracker – Kerosene Hat.
Even Better Than the Real Thing – U2 – Achtung Baby.
Best Of Both Worlds – Van Halen – 5150.

Leave a Reply

