The Onion On My Internet Belt

We return to the Audience Participation series this week with a suggestion that came from two different folks in slightly different forms: “If I had a Nickle (aka The Onion Belt)” and “How about a topic on Funk-isms? I’m thinking of the references you use all the time, like: ’Remember, we’re all in this together. I’m pullin’ for ya’.’ And ‘I wore an onion on my belt, it was the style at the time.’ And ‘so it goes’.”.

I’m going to guess that any long time reader of this space will know what they are talking about.

In the wider sense of what a Funk-ism might be, I have arranged this theme into three passes. The first (this week) and second (next week) are songs that have stories associated with them. Specifically, when I hear these songs I am very likely to want to tell you a story about how the song is unusual because the cd is rare, or when I first heard the song I was at an event of note, or how the song ties in to some life event or… You get the picture.

While I am absolutely positive in my heart of hearts that each of you would be rapt to be regaled with such fascinating and insightful commentaries on songs generally on the close end of obscurity, I am going to, in this rare event, demure. If you do in fact want to know the story behind one or two of these songs, you’ll have to ask me about it directly though I do withhold the right to give that vague and distant smile I get when I’m remembering a particularly lovely piece of mischief from my youth as the only response.

NOTE: If you aren’t already aware of the last song, it starts with words that aren’t appropriate for work or kids.

Embed from Getty Images

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Electro Funkisims, Originally mixed the week of 4.8.16

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Feet Like Fins (Remix) – Cocteau Twins – Otherness.
Blue (Album Mix) – LaTour – Big Hard Disk Vol 1.
Advance – LFO – Advance.
Sadness – Part I (Meditation Mix) – Enigma – McMxc A.D. (More Music Version).
Three Little Birdies Down Beats – The Chemical Brothers – Exit Planet Dust.
Pearls Girl – Underworld – Second Toughest In The Infants.
High Roller – The Crystal Method – Busy Child/High Roller single.
Give The Po’ Man A Break – Fatboy Slim – Better Living Through Chemistry.
Plastic (Funk U Tomorrow Mix) – P.M. Dawn – Plastic single.
Don’t You Want Me? – Felix – A Life in the Year of Deconstruction.
Let’s Do It Again – Project B12 – Technorave 2: Trance Atlantic The Wave of the Future.
I Sit On Acid (Short Basics) – Lords Of Acid – I Sit On Acid 12” single.

Leave a Reply

