The Onion On My Internet Belt

In the movie Tron, from 1982, the main characters are all in an arcade at one point. Seen in the crowd are folks in suits and dress clothes. The first video game system I had growing up was called “Telstar” which featured several version of “pong” disguised as hockey, tennis, and a solo mode. My Dad was giddy when he brought it home. Dad also liked the Atari 2600… and the Sega Master System… I think you get the point. Somewhere in my formative years I came to the idea that video games were for kids. Looking back there seems to be evidence to disprove this notion. My generation grew up with video games and as we age we are still in the mix. There are definite moments in gaming these days where I can tell that I am playing with folks younger than me or folks my age.

I’ve got a whole raft of stories about how video games have played a part in my life but I’ve run out of time today to tell all those stories if I plan to get this posted today. I’ll sum up some of the highlights as a compromise:
– My sister and I used to laugh ourselves out of breath playing “Combat” tanks for Atari 2600.
– My long love of RPGs comes from literally staying up all night to play “Phantasy Star” on the Sega Master System.
– The last patrol I was in for Boy Scouts was named for Sonic the Hedgehog. It was the best patrol ever.
– The first time I played a Playstation probably kept me from having a nervous breakdown in New Mexico.
– One of the best retail “war stories” I have is just not giving a hoot and bringing in the PS2 to play “Tekken” at work.
And the list would continue if there was time. This long history of electronic participation made this week’s mix a joy to build.

2715099083_75f18271b0_z

Ready Player One

This week’s mix is the second installment of the Audience Participation Series. The theme proposed, and mixed below, is “Video Game Music”.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Video Game Music. Originally mixed the week of 2.19.16

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Game the Song is From
From Past to Present – Jeremy Soule – Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.
The Courier – Amon Tobin – infamous.
El Cargo – Amon Tobin – Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory.
The Chaos Complex – Sascha Dikiciyan – Tron: Evolution.
Firework – Hollywood Principle – Rocket League.
Onyx – Cold Storage – WipeOut Pure.
Track 18 – Unknown – Destruction Derby.
Buggie Running Beeps 01 (Area01) – Keiichi Sugiyama! – Rez: Gamer’s Guide to…
Energy Flow – Vitae – Extreme G 3.
We Have Explosive – The Future Sound Of London – Wipeout 2097.
Techno Syndrome – The Immortals – Mortal Kombat.
Saints Row the Third – Malcolm Kirby Jr – Saints Row the Third.
V Six – Fluke – Wipeout 2097.
Never Could Have Your Heart – Misstress Barbara – Midnight Club.
I Am The One (High Fantasy Version) – Inon Zur – Dragon Age: Origins.

Leave a Reply

