The Onion On My Internet Belt

Among many things, growing up and into adulthood means watching your heroes die. I remember when I heard the news that Hunter Thompson had committed suicide. I was reading “The Great Shark Hunt” but could never turned another page it that book.

Yesterday I was turning over a metaphor in my mind. Humans have a long history of being described as clay. In that mode, we can harden and shatter, we can be watered down to nothing. We can be formed, added to, subtracted from. I pictured many forms of clay, started as figures, and as they aged, pieces were removed and at the same time pieces were added but these simultaneous tasks left each figured deformed but not lessened. I turned the lights off on this workshop when I considered the accelerating deformity of my own clay form.

Both David Bowie and Alan Rickman died this week, both at age 69, both from cancer. I am saddened by this news as I found their complexity, pathos, and influence to be compelling.

Meanwhile, in a midsized town (for middle southern Minnesota), at the age of 92, my last grandparent is dying from an infection in his foot. My Dad called last night to tell me the news. Now it’s lessening options and waiting.

Electronic hard scrabble bass noise. Come get some.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally mixed the week of 1.15.16

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Saints Row the Third – Malcolm Kirby Jr – Saints Row: The Third [Soundtrack].
Ignition Full Thrust – Debonaire & Exzakt – 25 Years Strong.
More Lazers – edit – The GTame Is Not Over / More Lazers single.
Beauty Of The Unhidden Heart – The Glitch Mob – Love Death Immortality.
The New Soma (Bass Science Remix) – STS9 – Peaceblaster (The New Orleans Make It Right Remixes).
Timestretch (West Coast Lo Fi Remix) – Bassnectar – Timestretch.
Encom Part 2 (Remixed By Com Truise) – Daft Punk – TRON: Legacy Reconfigured.
Sweden – Two Fingers – Stunt Rhythms.
Difference (Featuring Franky Perez) – The Crystal Method – The Crystal Method.
Crunch Rhythm – Two Fingers – Stunt Rhythms.
4 bit 9d api+e+6 – Aphex Twin – Syro.
Anvil Vapre (Second Scepe) – Autechre – Tri Repetae++ [Disc 2].

Leave a Reply

