The Onion On My Internet Belt

Over the last week a number of instances have come up that have fondly reminded me of formative comedy experiences in my life.

First, someone on twitter made an oblique reference to the George Carlin bit Things To Watch Out For. That bit had a huge impact on me when I first heard it on Dr. Demento in roughly 1985. I had it memorized for years. I was most worried about dry rot and voodoo curses.

Second, while watching the show “Wild Kratts” with kiddo, there was an episode that focused on wolves. Kiddo got a kick out of howling like a wolf though the end of the episode. All I could think of was Eugene Levy as Count Floyd and his Monster Horror Chiller Theater sketch from SCTV. It was hard to explain to kiddo why I laughed every time he howled. (AhhhOOOOooooOOOowwww!! Scary, kids!)

This week Joel Hodgson, the creator of “Mystery Science Theater 3000” launched a crowd funding campaign to reboot the show. I’m a fan of the original show for a multitude of reasons not the least of which is the Minnesota flavor of it. I haven’t contributed yet but I plan to. I hope you will consider it as well.

That time I met Kevin Murphy, the voice of Tom Servo. He was kind and gracious.

That time I met Kevin Murphy, the voice of Tom Servo. He was kind and gracious.

While I do support the idea of crowd funding and have contributed to a number of efforts I think the model has some failings. I now have a single guiding rule for contributing to crowd funding requests: Contribute as much as I can without qualifying for a physical incentive reward. Yes, many campaigns offer really great incentives to give a certain amount of money but my experience is that this is the largest failure point for such campaigns. My theory is that the logistics of distribution and production of physical rewards is much more complex and time consuming to accomplish than the persons running the campaign are ready for/able to pull off. I believe that the money raised will generally be used responsibly for the actual creative endeavor it is intended for. I also believe that the skill set needed to effectively manage the production and distribution details of rewards are not well handled by the folks who have the creative idea being backed. Having a bitter taste for a project that you once thought was awesome because of broken promises is not something that I think I need to subject myself to anymore.

I’ve started playing Minecraft again. No idea why I’m suddenly obsessed with it, but I am. What’s worse is that when I think about the game experience when I’m not playing I wonder to myself how a game of what is essentially resource and time allocation can be any fun at all. But it is.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally mixed the week of 11.13.15

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Onwards – Afro Celt Sound System – Volume 3: Further In Time.
Well Balanced – Aural Float – Space Night Vol III.
Desire Lines – Meanderthals – Desire Lines.
Boom Boom Ba – Métisse – My Fault.
Blue Lines – Massive Attack – Blue Lines.
Stay the Same (Mark Pritchard Remix) – Bonobo – Black Sands Remixed.
6 Underground (Perfecto Mix) – Sneaker Pimps – Becoming Remixed.
Pentaura (Pentatonik Mix) – Pentaura – Atomic Audio.
Northern Vision – Eastern Sun – In Emptiness.
Influx – Higher Intelligence Agency – Colourform.
The Thinner the Air – Cocteau Twins – Victorialand.
Abandon End Titles – Clint Mansell – Abandon (Motion Picture Soundtrack).

Leave a Reply

