The Onion On My Internet Belt

Since I enjoy communication theory I found some good mental grist this week when Twitter changed one of their major user interface options by changing a user’s ability to “favorite” a tweet with a star icon to “like” a tweet with a heart icon. I find this single word change an important linguistic distinction that shapes interactions between users and separates one social media platform from another. As Seth said “[heart icon] seems too strong for how I feel about most tweets.”. Given my interest in the Saphir-Whorf hypothesis I think this single word change carries more impact on users especially women, who face regular online harassment, than the corporate overseers might have meant.

Had a bittersweet hour last Saturday in the old neighborhood. Found out the day previous that parents of my good friends Nick and Chris are moving to Texas. It makes sense for them to move. Why stay and thole the Minnesota winters when they can, in their retirement, move close to their grandkids? I stopped by the old place and had a wonderful hour of conversation that reaffirmed why I enjoy their company so much. I’ve known Chris and Nick since elementary school. Their dad, Dave, was one of our scout troop leaders. Now none of them live in Minnesota any more. I doubt I will see many, if any, of the family again in person and that is, in the vernacular, a real bummer. I suppose this is why Christmas cards still exist.

Speaking of winter related things, this is a picture I took some years ago that I think is pretty good.

This Should Be Titled Something Meaningful and Poetic

This Should Be Titled Something Meaningful and Poetic

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally mixed the week of 11.6.15

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Voodoo Fire – 10-AC – Zoo Rave II.
Safe From Harm (Just A Dub) – Massive Attack – Singles 90/98 [Disc 3].
Mad World (The Crystal Method Remix) – Zen Cowboys – Hardhop & Trypno.
Mosaic – Underworld – Pearl’s Girl [EP].
Motor City – Xaver Naudascher – Kompakt Label Family [August 2009 Sampler].
Groovy Feeling (Thick ‘N’ Creamy) – Fluke – Groovy Feeling [Single].
Oasis – 808 State – unreleased demo.
Laughing Gas (On the Other Side Mix) – Juno Reactor – Laughing Gas [EP].
Eternal Spirit (Northern Mix) – 4 Voice – Logic Trance 2 [Disc 2].
We Are No Strangers – Trance Control – Beyond 2000.
9 P.M. (Till I Come) [Sigum Remix] – ATB – Movin’ Melodies.

Leave a Reply

