The Onion On My Internet Belt

Thank You, Wits.

I recently read the poem The Lanyard by Billy Collins. It resonated as I am both a son and a parent. It was a good reminder that our books are often unbalanced when it comes to what others have given us and what we have given them in return.

Today the MPR radio show “Wits” was cancelled. They have given and I have received in unequal measure and I am in their debt. There are few currencies I can offer in terms of evening this balance in the wake of this bad news so I will give the lanyard that I have.

Thank you, Wits.

Thank you to each of you who made the show what it was: John Moe, Larissa Anderson, Hans Beutow, Corey Schreppel, Mike Fotis, Christina Baldwin, John Munson and The Witnesses (Janey Winterbauer, Steve Roehm, Richard Medek, and Joe Savage). I know there are more of you involved with the show and I am sorry to not know all of your names.

Thank you for using some of the questions I sent in.

Thank you for giving my wife and me an excise to have a date night. We got to be people together and not just parents for a few nights.

Thank you for giving us something to get excited about in St. Paul on a regular basis.

Thank you for introducing such phrases as “Enemy band!”, “Go big and go home! Do it the Polk way!”, and “you know… the weird stuff or the good stuff or the weird good stuff…” into our daily vernacular.

Thank you for The Wits Social Club gatherings. I never imagined I’d be sitting around talking music with John Munson.

Thank you for the nexus of public radio amusement that was meeting Peter Sagal and having a fedora party with him in the lobby of the Fitz.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity over and over again to say “Thank you!” in person to creative, funny, and remarkable people who have made my life better with their music, their writing, their podcasts, and their jokes. Folks like Kevin Murphy, Neil Gaiman, Open Mike Eagle, Paul F. Tompkins, Ben Acker, Ben Blacker, Paget Brewster, Weird Al, and Cary Elwes.

Thank you for not throwing me out of the building when I totally geeked out on Aisha Tyler and held up the meet and greet line.

Thank you for having a crossover episode with “The Thrilling Adventure Hour”. Getting to see a TAH show in person was a legitimate bucket list item for me that I figured was just out of reach.

Thank you most of all for your sense of “Hey, we did this cool thing! You should be part of that cool thing, too!”. My appreciation of being included in these experiences is profound.

Thank you, good night, and good luck.

Leave a Reply

