The Onion On My Internet Belt

Last week I threw out my back. There is no story to tell, just a horrible kink in the works. I was laid out on the heavy meds for two days. Then on Sunday I got a head cold to boot. This post was very close to sounding like a meeting of relatives around the table on the farm where my Dad’s folks lived until I was around 8 years old. It was almost a litany of what minor ills and troubles had set up people of only mild consequence to your life. It was near to being an entire afternoon of bad coffee and gossip as a way to pass the time but not fill a life. An iota longer in thought and this space would have been filled with words like “it’s a shame, really…” and “you know who had trouble last week?” and I’m sure “so I says to Mable I says” would have been in there too just after someone took a bite of an overly buttered ham sandwich.

Instead I’m posting a mix that zigs in the face of this zag. It’s a genre as yet unrepresented in the annuls of this space. There is much I could say about this collection of songs, but I’m letting that pass by as well. Nothing kills funny like mansplaining.

Normally I would post a picture here to go with the mix, but in this case it would cost money, so here is the link to the picture. Whose the horse, now?!

Normally I would also post the albums that songs came from but in this case almost every song came off a compilation of some sort. Of note is the Reggie Watts song. That is from Episode 19 of Wits.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… For Laughs – Originally mixed the week of 5.22.15

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist
Existential Blues – Tom “T-Bone” Stankes.
They’re Coming to Take Me Away, Ha-Haaa! – Napoleon XIV.
Cocktails For Two – Spike Jones & His City Slickers.
The Yellow Rose Of Texas – Stan Freberg.
Dueling Tubas – Martin Mull.
Ballad Of Bilbo Baggins – Leonard Nimoy.
King Tut – Steve Martin.
The Elements – Tom Leher.
Fish Heads – Barnes & Barnes.
Hey Baby – Maggie Estep.
The Theme From Dangeresque II: This Time It’s Not Dangeresque I – Strong Bad.
There’s A Platypus Controlling Me – Dr. Doofenschmirtz.
Impromptu Song About DnD – Reggie Watts.
Go Kart Racing – Garfunkel and Oates.
Velvet Elvis – Weird Al Yankovic.
Don’t Touch Me – Brak & Space Ghost.
Mahna Mahna – Mahna Mahna & The Snowths.
The Monorail Song – The Simpsons.
Asshole – Denis Leary.

Comments on: "Spines, Almost, and the mix for 5-22-15" (1)

  1. Nature Boy by Leonard Nimoy…. IT EXISTS!!!

Leave a Reply

