The Onion On My Internet Belt

Last weekend we drove down to Pipestone, MN, to visit my wife’s family. This by itself is a common event. Also common? Stopping in Mankato at the Caribou Coffee by River Hills mall. It’s about the half way point, easy to get to, we like coffee, you get the drift. This time around I did something that I had never done before: Left my insulin kit*. This is the first time I can ever remember having forgotten it anywhere and didn’t notice almost immediately. Given the amount of time I’ve been carrying a kit I think that is a pretty good run. So, my adventure for the week was driving down to Mankato and back on Wednesday night.

The drive from Home to Pipestone takes just over three hours.

The drive from Home to Pipestone takes just over three hours.

The round trip was 189 miles with a 3 hour 8 minute drive time. Not a bad run. The weather was passable, the traffic was light, and I caught up on a bunch of podcasts (of which I am perpetually and forever behind on). The folks at the Caribou had called to let me know I left my kit and were very nice. They even gave me a free coffee for making the drive. Turns out that doing a long solo drive didn’t bother me in college and it doesn’t bother me now. Sure, my back was a bit sore and my right elbow hurt but otherwise it wasn’t a big deal. That is somehow a comfort.

*Not to worry. I’ve got a complete back up. “Be Prepared” and all.

This week is the same theme as last but with a different vibe.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… L2 – Originally mixed the week of 5.8.15

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Les Nuits – Nightmares On Wax – Space Night, Vol. V [Disc 2].
Laidback (Laidback Lounge Mix) – Mr Humphrey – Ultra Lounge Essentials Vol 2.
Lebanese Blonde – Thievery Corporation – Garden State.
Land Of… – St. Germain – Tourist.
Let Me See – Morcheeba – Big Calm.
Large Hadron Love Collider – William Orbit – Strange Cargo 5.
Light Pattern – Bonobo – Dial ‘M’ For Monkey.
Last 50,000 Years (Deru Remix) – STS9 – Peaceblaster (The New Orleans Make It Right Remixes).
Lasaron Highway – Meanderthals – Desire Lines.
Les Enfants – Gui Boratto – Take My Breath Away.
Like A Ghost In Your Own Life – Ulrich Schnauss – A Long Way To Fall.
Lost Where They May Be Found – Twilight Archive – Twilight Archive.

Leave a Reply

