The Onion On My Internet Belt

My work week has been slow. Preternaturally slow. You know why? Everyone was waiting until Friday to put things on my desk. As such, this post will be to the point.

Went to Record Store Day last Saturday with a trip to Eclipse Records in St Paul. It was a nice day to be out and about with the family. Bought a really cool split single with Grandmaster Flash / Stiff Little Fingers both performing “The Message”. Trouble is I haven’t had time to listen to it. In fact I’m awash to too much music (both digital and analog) that hasn’t gotten the attention it deserves. I’ll write more about the cool things I hear when I actually get to listen to them in a meaningful way.


I feel like this guy: All maintenance, no listening.

My April Poem-A-Day efforts are grinding to a halt. I think I have to admit I’m out of steam and work on revising what I did get down in the coming months. I struggled most days this time around. Also, I wonder what, if anything, I should do with the growing stack of stuff I’ve written in the past. Most interesting, for me anyway, revelation of this PAD effort: I wrote a lot of erotically charged verse this month.

Been a notable amount of difficult conversations with kiddo in the last week. We talked about profanity. He now knows, by his own admission, learned on the playground, the “S” and “F” words. No joke, I repurposed the serious parts of Carlin’s “7 Words” bit to talk about language on the walk home from school. Seems to have worked. Had a talk last night about not getting along with some kids and how to deal with people who just can’t get along. We’ll see how this plays out. He has a sensitive heart.

Decided to register for the Minnesota Ironman Bike Ride this Sunday (4/26/15). It’s not a triathlon. It’s older than the event in Hawaii and they share the name by legal agreement. So named for how early it is in the season and the notoriously volatile weather this time of year. Plan to do the 29 mile route. Signed up much later (like months later) than usual. I think this might have been a good thing as it didn’t give me time to over think the prep.

Speaking of bike rides… I’ve signed on to do the MS Ride again this year (5/9/15) with my friend Kate. This will be my 7th time riding and I’m only $8 short of my fundraising goal! If you want to be the hero that pushes this over the top, you can do so here. To those of you who have already donated, thank you!

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally mixed the week of 4.24.15

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Am I Wrong – Etienne De Crécy – Essentials (Best Of).
Heilgenstadt (Original Mix) – Mango & Embliss – Heilgenstadt [single].
Impressive Instant – Madonna – Music.
Much Ado About Nothing Left – Orbital – The Altogether [Disc 2].
A Ritual In Time And Death – Ulrich Schnauss – A Long Way To Fall.
Reverse the Silence – Darren Tate – Horizons, Vol. 02.
Salvida Tori – Psygone – In To The Mix II [Disc 2].
Wolf-Head – System 7 – Phoenix.
Heat – Pig & Dan – Then & Now.
With Me or Against Me (Tocadisco’s Carnaval In Rio Mix) [feat. TC] – D.Ramirez – Mark Knight Presents Toolroom Knights.

Leave a Reply

