The Onion On My Internet Belt

Continuing with last week’s theme of photo management, I think my time of actively being interested in flickr is drawing to a close. I bring it up because this has been a very slow week at work so I’ve been looking for amusements. Flickr doesn’t offer any real interest anymore. What I joined in 2006 isn’t there anymore. The community is scattered, the layout is junky, and the interface has fallen behind or been outright neglected.

You've been saying that for two years now flickr...

You’ve been saying that for two years now flickr…

The final sign along this road came last night when I read via twitter this exhibition notice from the Minneapolis Institute of Arts. Having had my photographs on display at the MIA before this announcement was of great interest to me. If you read to the bottom you’ll note the way to participate mentions only Twitter and Instagram. All previous opportunities came from flickr.

Further, sorting and altering (resize and crop mainly) pictures for public presentation has lost its verve. I’m sure I’ll post things now and again, but very casually. Like all of my hobbies, I come and go from things and I think I am on the red shift from photography but I’m sure my orbit will come back around.

An oddly unbroken thread in my mind this week has been “small thrills”. This started last week in my search for stock photos for the blog post (via Getty Images) when I came across the image below.

Embed from Getty Images

You don’t have to know me very well to know there are many thrills for me in that image and it’s been there in the pages of my mind like a bookmark all week. I’ve found as I get older there are fewer of those thrilling little moments in life, many of which used to crop up around the early spring rebirth of the world, and that of the things that go missing in a life, I’m feeling the loss of these tiny pleasures more acutely than I would have thought.

Just today I listened to this fascinating BBC Radio program (programme) about the vault of unreleased music Prince has at Paisley Park. I’ve seen that vault and it captures my imagination. If you’ve got an interest in The Purple One and 53 minutes, give it a go. The idea that Prince isn’t sentimental about his past explains a lot. As fans sure, we want to hear what is in there, but these are in all ways his and I completely respect that.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… originally mixed the week of 3.27.15

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Running Down the Way Up – BT – Movement in Still Life.
Sun & Moon – Above & Beyond – Group Therapy.
Renegade – Christopher Lawrence – Supercharged.
Enervate (Original Mix) – Transa – Tranceport.
Make Me Feel (Original Version) – Benassi Bros. – Phobia.
On the 7th Day – Darren Tate – Horizons, Vol 02.
It’s My Pleasure (Club Mix) – My Friend Sam Ft. Viola Wills – Renaissance – The Mix Collection [Disc 3].
Perfect Motion (Boys Own Mix) – Sunscreem – Renaissance – The Mix Collection [Disc 1].
Mama Konda (Timo Maas Mix) – Orinoko – Music For The Maases [Disc 2].
S&M – Rhihanna – Loud.
Der Schieber – Timo Maas – Music For The Maases [Disc 1].

Leave a Reply

