The Onion On My Internet Belt

This mix is the first in a cross genre series all based on the same theme.

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… A Sense of Place, North

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Miami Vice (Instrumential) – Jan Hammer – Miami Vice.
A Rumour In Africa – Errors – Come Down With Me.
Private Idaho – The B-52’s – Modern Rock 1980-1984 [Disc 2].
Rio – Duran Duran – Modern Rock: Early 80s [Disc 2].
China – The Red Rockers – Modern Rock 1980-1984 [Disc 2].
Hollywood Nights – Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band – Ultimate Hits.
Panama – Van Halen – 1984.
Amsterdam – Van Halen – Balance.
Jesus Just Left Chicago – ZZ Top – Tres Hombres.
Werewolves of London – Warren Zevon – Excitable Boy.
Minneapolis Blues – Fernando Jones – Stranded.
Chicago Wind – Adrian Younge – Black Dynamite (Original Motion Picture Score).
All the Critics Love You In London – Prince – Indigo Nights.
New York Is Killing Me – Gil Scott-Heron – I’m New Here.
Back In Buffalo – Leo Kottke – My Father’s Face.
Speedway At Nazareth – Mark Knopfler – Sailing To Philadelphia.
A Letter From St. Paul – The Silencers – A Letter From St. Paul.

Comments on: "A Sense of Place (North), mix for 2-6-15" (5)

  1. That is definitely an eclectic mix! I’m not a fan of Bob Seger, but there are some great tracks on this list, including the Jan Hammer and the Warren Zevon. And I’m always up for some Kottke, as previously discussed.

    Sorry it’s taken me a while to catch up with your posts.

  2. P.S. I have just read “Driving Toward the Lac Qui Parle River” as recommended. I’ve always been drawn to songs and poetry about place, or any list of place names, really — such as train stops being called out by a train conductor, or lists of destinations on boards at the airport or train or bus station. I think this fascination has something to do with my ever-present desire to be somewhere else.

  3. Great! This mix cheered me up yesterday when I was at home sick. Thank you! I really liked the Knopfler track — not sure I’d heard it before.

Leave a Reply

