The Onion On My Internet Belt

Let’s talk about the concept of the perfect album.

I know exactly how I define the concept: An album in which not a single song gets skipped. When one listens to a perfect album it flows uninterrupted. This is not to say that taken separately that each song on a perfect album is transcendent though that can happen. This concept is about the works that once you start the journey in the first few notes, the rest of the journey is preordained and not a single step is out of place.

There are only a few of these works that I can name and my list will certainly not match yours. It is as personal as a diary and as nuanced as any decision on love can be.

“Songs from the Big Chair” by Tears for Fears
“Good News From The Next World” by Simple Minds
“A Love Supreme” by John Coltrane
The first eponymous album by Santana
“Love Over Gold” by Dire Straits
“Dubnobasswithmyheadman” by Underworld
“Toward the Unknown Region” by Torch Song

It’s the last one on this list that relates to the brightest flame in the gloom of this week.

A twitter conversation I had with William Orbit on 12-4-14.

A twitter conversation I had with William Orbit on 12-4-14.

What you see above is a conversation I had with William Orbit, the man behind “Toward the Unknown Region”. Not only does the thoughtfulness of a friend pay off for twenty years, I was able to thank the creator of a perfect album for that work.

I’d love to hear from you about what albums you take as perfect.

Leave a Reply

