The Onion On My Internet Belt

It’s new podcast day! By happenstance today is also Halloween. I’ve got mixed feelings about Halloween.

On the plus side today is my parent’s 44th wedding anniversary. Being that they grew up farming the going about to neighbor’s houses for treats wasn’t much of a thing. First and foremost today has always been their anniversary.

Also in the plus category is widespread cosplay. I think costumes are cool and that maybe we would all be a little happier if we pretended to be fantastic beings more often. I’ve always tended towards costumes that need qualification and explanation but when someone gets them, man is that a hoot. I also love seeing what kids come up with. One boy in 4th grade at my son’s school wore a wide stripe black and white pinstriped suit and a Darth Vader mask. “I’m Darth Businessman!” he said. There was also a karate werewolf in the group.

On the negative side, having been diabetic since the age of 7 or 8, it always felt like a day built to highlight my exclusion. That was really hard for the first couple of years. I was grateful the year our cat had fleas and the house was fumigated on Halloween. The family went out for Chinese food that night to celebrate the aforementioned anniversary and to not inhale the fumes. I basically got to skip Halloween and since I was about the age where trick-or-treating was losing its luster that was fine by me.

My favorite Halloween costume (that I wore) was in college. I was invited to a “Drag Party”. I wore full leather gear and a motorcycle helmet: A Drag Racer. It was a huge hit.

I’d be failing in my Minnesotan Duties if I didn’t bring up the Halloween Blizzard of 1991 in this post. I mention it as a transition point to the music.

The weekend before the Halloween Blizzard I was out camping with my scout troop at Frontenac State Park. It was beautiful during the day and miserably cold at night. A friend of mine had just purchased the album “On Every Street” by Dire Straits. We listened to the cassette all the way down and all the way back. I bought the cd sometime the next week. When the blizzard dumped three feet of snow on us, I sat in the living room watching it pile up and listening to that album. Today and that album are forever linked.

October Listening
Van Morrison’s “Moondance” gets play this time of year too for the lyric “Under October skies…”

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… originally mixed the week of 10.31.14

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are around ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Morning Lemon – The Chemical Brothers – Block Rockin Beats single.
Addicted To Bass (Hyper & Rhymes Remix) – Puretone – Bedrock Breaks: Heads Down (Disc 1).
Live Like You Wanna Live (Tommie Sunshine’s Reverse Remix) – Greenskeepers – Sounds of Om 2011.
Dark And Long (Darren Price And High Contrast Remix) – Underworld – Isles Of Wonder (Disc 2).
Ride the Wave – Darren Tate – Horizons, Vol. 02.
Freefall – Pitch Black (NZ) – Ape To Angel.
Changes (Mike Monday Vocal Mix) – Dirty Vegas – Sounds of Om 2011.
Nutmeg – Austin Leeds – Altered States.
Atom Bomb (Atomix 6) – Fluke – Atom Bomb (Disc 1).
Whaler (Strobe Mix) – Omicron – Chill Out! The Techno Evolution Continues (Disc 1).

Leave a Reply

