The Onion On My Internet Belt

In the mail this week I received the “super deluxe” 5 disc box set 20th anniversary remaster of “Dubnobasswithmyheadman” by Underworld. I don’t understand how that was twenty years ago. I can recall with perfect clarity the first time I picked up that cd from the station manager’s desk at my college radio station, looked it over, shrugged, and gave it a listen. Beyond ruminations on the shifting idea and perception of time it got me thinking about the influence of items on us through time.

In August of 2013 I went with my Dad and a few of his close friends to the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) Fly-In in Osh Kosh, Wisconsin. I believe it’s the largest air show in the US. I’ve wanted to go for many years. In the first few moments we were on the show ground proper I saw this:

Just like "Gone With The Wind" but for dudes.

Just like “Gone With The Wind” but for dudes.

The shirt this man is wearing? It’s made from the same patterned fabric that the curtains in my room were made of. I had those curtains until I was in about 6th grade I think. They fascinated me. Those World War I planes were mysterious and I dreamt about them often.

Seeing that pattern again sent a strange ripple through my person. Do I like aircraft to this day because of those curtains? Does my love of technical drawings rest in this early experience? I’m willing to say that to some degree both of those statements can be answered in the affirmative.

That same ripple happened to me when I got the “Dubnobasswithmyheadman” remaster. How much of me is invested in and defined by this musical experience?

-As a preemptive heads up: It’s highly unlikely that there will be a podcast next week (10-17-14).

Listen to and/or download this podcast! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… originally mixed the week of 10.10.14

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Sanctuary (Radio Edit) – Origene – Sanctuary single.
Little Bullet (High Velocity Mix) – Spooky – Renaissance: The Mix Collection [Disc 3].
Move For Me – Kaskade – Move for Me single.
Roots – Mark Verbos – Digital Empire: Electronica’s Best [Disc 1].
Salvida Tori – Psygone – In To The Mix II – The 2nd Coming.
Take Over – Transmutator – 8th Day and Beyond.
Don’t Jump – LaTour – Home On The Range.
Pistolero (Man With No Name Version) – Juno Reactor – Pistolero single.
Sun Electra – Darren Tate – Horizons, Vol. 02.
Can’t Stop This Fire – High Contrast – Isles Of Wonder: Music For The Opening Ceremony Of The London 2012 Olympic Games [Disc 2].
643 (Love’s On Fire) [Oliver Klein Vocal Mix) – Tiësto – Moving Melodies.

Leave a Reply

