The Onion On My Internet Belt

For a wonderful shining moment this week I thought I was really settling into my new job. By the end of that same day I felt worse about it than I had for weeks. I won’t bore you with the details. The short of it is I’m still learning and still making a lot of mistakes. There is much work to do.

Last weekend we attempted to go to the Renaissance Festival in Shakopee. After just shy of an hour in traffic, with easily an additional 30 minutes to go, we aborted that plan. I doubt I will even entertain the thought of a return to the Renn Fest under their current parking set up. What a gong show. Instead we went to Sever’s Corn Maze. Turns out that was a fantastic idea (100% credit to my wife there). Kiddo loved it! The highlight of the visit was the fun slide, the corn pit, and the pneumatic canons out of which we shot mini pumpkins.

Standing shin deep in corn kernels is strange.

Standing shin deep in corn kernels is strange.

This week the mix isn’t by me. It’s from an alternate universe.

The Underworld album “Dubnobasswithmyheadman” turns 20 next month. The band asked people to record some thoughts on the album and upload them to Soundcloud. Given how important that album has been to me, I went ahead and did that. A few days later someone from Underworld HQ contacted me and asked if they could use the track as a companion to the album on Spotify. You’re damn right I said yes. I checked a day or two ago and the album wasn’t up on Spotify yet but I suspect they are waiting to post it until next month with the anniversary reissue.

"To touch, to taste she flows like a river of bass vibration..."

“To touch, to taste she flows like a river of bass vibration…”

However…
On Soundcloud (where you can snoop around and find my commentary track before it’s on Spotify…) Underworld released an hour long track called “Saved From The Cutting Room Floor” which is like an alternate universe release of the album. If you are familiar with the original, it’s a real trip. If you aren’t, it’s fantastic in its own right. For your listening assignment this week, check it out.

I’ll be back to my standard tricks for your sonic amusement next week.

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” podcasts are generally posted on Fridays. The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Leave a Reply

