The Onion On My Internet Belt

Near the ragged edge of things. That’s where I’ve been lately. I’ve been tempered by the firestorm that is Finals Week at the university I work at. I’ve come through the high churning waters of strep throat. The trench of expensive car repair is being forded (see what I did there?) this very day. There are other demons and wizards on the path close at hand and their threat has kept me on my toes. Yes, that last part is cryptic. If anything comes of those unspecified activities keeping me up at night, I’ll let you know.

Two random thoughts for the week. First, Merriam Webster has announced their new inclusions for 2014. That list is here: http://www.merriam-webster.com/new-words/2014-update.htm
I find a certain amount of amusement and bewilderment at the energy that some folks put into hating new additions to a book that chronicles out usage of language. That seems to be a misunderstanding of the fundamental nature of a living language. Remember: If you don’t like a word, you don’t have to use it.

Second, not too many nights ago I ended up flipping through the racks and stacks of my tracks on wax and while about 40 albums in I forgot what I was looking for I did finally alight in the comedy section. There is some classic stuff in there but one track on one album sent a specific shiver down my spine.

This cover photo *may* encapsulate an important moment in my juvenile self development.

This cover photo *may* encapsulate an important moment in my juvenile self development.

I still support the album “Trapped in the Body of a White Girl” and Julie Brown’s comedy (anybody else remember the show “Strip Mall”?) but the song “Homecoming Queen’s Got A Gun” makes me flinch now. In 1987, when I heard it on the Dr. Demento show on the Westward One Radio Network I couldn’t imagine a time when that song could possibly reflect a reality that my own son could face. Times change for good and bad.

Strap in and get your beats shined up! Listen to and/or download this show! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… originally mixed the week of 5.28.14

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” mixes generally post on Fridays. The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Am I Wrong – Etienne De Crécy – Essentials (Best Of).
The Story Of…(Heavinz Dub) – Sound Bridge – Mixtape: Future Funk.
Squirt (Europicola) – Fluke – Progressive History XXX (Disc 3).
Scramble – System 7 – Phoenix.
The Opaque (Pitch Black Remix) – Tom Cosm – Remixes & Rarities.
Television Popper – Stisch – Bedrock Breaks: Late Night/Early Doors [Disc 2].
Probe – DJ Baby Anne – Probe (EP).
More Lazers – edit – The Game Is Not Over single.
Mussian Rother – Pig & Dan – Then & Now.
02-02-02 (Version 2) – Underworld – Underworldlive.com.

Comments on: "Merriam, Julie, and the Mix for 5-28-14" (1)

  1. Julie Brown . . . now, that’s a blast from the past!

Leave a Reply

