The Onion On My Internet Belt

It’s National Poetry Month! I’ll save my wandering unfocused thoughts about my relationship to both reading and writing poetry for another time. What I will share is that I’m trying to write a poem each day this month and am following the prompts (more or less) by Robert Lee Brewer on his Poetic Asides blog. Another blog that is worthy of note for April’s PAD (Poem-A-Day) goings on is this one by Rachel Bunting. She is an amazing poet and I’m enjoying what she’s doing so far this month. As for my poems, if you really want to read them, let me know.

Some time back I said I would review the latest eponymous Crystal Method album when I was comfortable with the work. Well, I am so here goes: It’s fine. It was a kickstarter project and I feel good that I backed the effort. In terms of sound there is more noise than I like and it feels less like the innovation of their past works and more like chasing a current sound. A change to their recipe is a lot of featured artists across the album. Those tracks are without exception less appealing. In their oeuvre it ranks above Tweekend but below everything else. The cream of the crop track wise are “110 to the 101”, “Jupiter Shift” and “Sling the Decks”.

I’m chuffed to say that through the wonderful generosity of the folks I know I’ve reached, in one paltry week, my fundraising goal for the upcoming MS Ride! Thank you so much!! If you haven’t donated yet but were thinking of chipping in, you can still do so. Here is my fundraising page for the event. Warning: There are pictures of me in full lycra through that link.
http://main.nationalmssociety.org/site/TR?px=6059344&pg=personal&fr_id=22107

Remember last week when I said there was an impending theme for the next few weeks? Here is the first in that series with cover art and all. These next few mixes are more time robust that usual.

Listen to and/or download this show! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Remix Yellow 1: Hexadecimal Shades Originally mixed the week of 4.4.14

Remix Yellow 1: Hexadecimal  Shades

Remix Yellow 1: Hexadecimal Shades

NOTE: New “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” mixes generally post on Fridays. The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Brown Liquor – Mocean Worker – Cinco De Mowo!
Golden – Thunderball – Scorpio Rising.
Amber – Afro Celt Sound System – Volume 2: Release.
Pink Stones – Memory Tapes – Seek Magic.
Violet – Seal – Seal.
Red Dust – Zero 7 – Simple Things.
Fields Of Green And Yellow – Sounds From The Ground – Widerworld.
Electric Blue – Fluke – Puppy.
Sea Green – William Orbit – Hello Waveforms.
Orange Wedge – The Chemical Brothers – Surrender.
In Your Eyes (Blue Mix) – Orange 3 & Filterheadz – In Your Eyes EP.
Silver – Juno Reactor – Beyond The Infinite.
Purple (Sasha Vs. The Light) – GusGus – Tranceport.

Comments on: "National Poetry Month, A Tepid Review, and Remix Yellow 1" (3)

  1. “Pictures of me in full lycra” — talk about clickbait! I have donated a few dollars; good luck on your ride!

    I meant to do something for National Poetry Month but I’m mentally exhausted and there is no ink in the well, so to speak. Maybe I should try to force myself to write something.

  2. I’m tickled in a sort of blushing way that anybody would think that. =]

    Thank you so much for the donation! I really do appreciate it. It means a lot to me that you would dedicate some of your resources to someone you’ve never met before other than as pixels on a screen and a few random papers in the post.

    I haven’t been reading or writing much of anything over the last couple months. April is a good excuse and a point of focus but I’ve got to have limits and rules in place before I start to keep it fun or else I implode on the exercise. Maybe we should start a communal poetry blog during a month of our choosing.

Leave a Reply

