The Onion On My Internet Belt

This week’s blog is going to start with fashion ramblings. First up: How can picking a new style of shoe cause so much turmoil? So for the last couple of years I have been wearing, what are in essence, the same shoes to work every day. The actual pair of shoes has changed three times but the style has been the same. The last pair finally gave up the ghost to the snow and salt of this Winter of Brutality so off to the shoe store I went. Upon browsing the stacks and rows I came to find that the shoes I was prepared to buy were nowhere to be found. The next half hour was filled with a surprising amount of inner turmoil for me. I decided, since I had a very definite time frame to accomplish this task in, to be bold and go for a totally new style (in suede nonetheless!).

So much inner turmoil moving from right to left.

So much inner turmoil moving from right to left.

I am happy to report that so far today, in their first wearing, I’ve received a compliment and they fit pretty well.

The weather is flirting with what we here in Minnesota call ‘nice’. For those not acquainted with the particulars of that colloquialism this time of year it means temperatures above 32F but not above 50F and at least partly sunny. This means a change to lighter jackets, hats, and gloves. In the hat department I have deployed my new brown wool fedora. I am very pleased with it in terms of fit and ease of wear.

This week I read a blog post from Sonja (a friend on twitter) that reaffirms why I love the internet. While there are many dark bridges for trolls to hide under there are also wonderful opportunities to connect real people to other real people in a meaningful way.

Hypothetical: All things being equal otherwise would you take a less fulfilling job that you can easily bike to or a more fulfilling job that has a horrible commute?

Listen to and/or download this show! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally mixed the week of 3.14.14

NOTE: “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” are generally mixed on Tuesdays and new mixes generally post on Fridays. The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Raphael – Torch Song – Toward the Unknown Region.
The Circle – Babble – Ether.
Superstar DJ – Cirrus – The Trip Hop Test Part 2.
Cowgirl (Winjer Mix) – Underworld – Dirty Epic/Cowgirl [EP].
Black Morpheus – 808 State – Gorgeous.
Counts, Dukes & Strays – Mocean Worker – Mixed Emotional Features.
I Always Wanted You Back – Letherette – Letherette.
Wayward Bob – Bonobo – Dial ‘M’ For Monkey.
Love Life – Fatboy Slim – Halfway Between the Gutter and the Stars.
Little Brat – Two Fingers – Stunt Rhythms.
Believe – Überzone – Digital Empire, Vol. 2: The Aftermath [Disc 1].
Are We Here? (Who Are They?) – Orbital – Are We Here? (Single).

Comments on: "Play list, 3-14-14" (4)

  1. Oh, wow, those boots are gorgeous! I bet you look very handsome in them 🙂

  2. Oh, and in answer to your hypothetical question, I would take the less fulfilling job I could bike to. I cannot stand a long commute and I won’t do it. Then again, I am not like most people in this regard (or in any other!).

Leave a Reply

