The Onion On My Internet Belt

Music is like drugs. Once you get a serious habit going it is hard to stop. Then, even if there does come a day when the grip is loosened, the shadow of it is always close. I usually crack wise when I say those previous sentences out loud, but I think that is to make other people feel comfortable.

The picture above is from Getty images. I heard just yesterday that they have changed the way they are letting folks use their images and are now allowing (as you see above) for folks to use some of their stock stuff for free as long as you use their embedding code here is how you do that. I think this is a good thing and an acknowledgement of the reality of internet usage. Not sure how much this will influence the debate, which I think needs to be much broader and much louder, on copyright in the US, but I hope it helps update the concept into our current century.

While browsing for images to use a couple things became apparent to me as I was taking in large amounts of correlated visual data in a confined space. There are a lot of people with megaphones who look mad. Most of those people are white women. The idea that the clothes a model is wearing should match the color of the depth of field fuzzed background is also very prevalent. If you search “engine” you will see sexism is alive and well with the trope of a woman looking befuddled at a steaming car engine while stranded on the side of the road but also a couple glimmers of hope in that woman are at least occasionally shown as being mechanics too. All this to say there is an interesting visual shorthand at play with stock photography. If you have some time, give it a look.

Want a hat? Not long ago (here, actually) I mentioned that I had fallen in love with a hat I purchased from Goorin Brothers in Minneapolis. I didn’t listen to my gut in the store and I bought the smaller size. Oops. I have since purchased the larger one (which I wear with a notable amount of pleasure and frequency) but the smaller one needs a home. Here is what it looks like.

Goorin Bros Maximus, Size Medium, To A Good Home

Goorin Bros Maximus, Size Medium, To A Good Home

The size is a medium which is listed as 7 1/8 inches. The large is a 7 3/8. It is olive in color and made of wool. It’s a very nice hat and if you would like it, let me know. I’ll send it to you. For free. I just want it to have a good home.

Kiddo and I have been watching episodes of Gilligan’s Island. This is a show that I’ve always enjoyed because my sense of humor aligns with a Vaudevillian sensibility. My Dad hates this show. His main complaint being that if the castaways are able to do all of these things (build huts, make pedal cars, etc) why the hell can’t they just fix their damn boat?! He has a point. A point that even a 5 year old gets since after watching our first full episode together kiddo said “Dada, why don’t they fix their boat?”. Kiddo laughs and I laugh and we have fun with the Seven Stranded Castaways there on Gilligan’s Isle.

Spring. It’s almost here. Today temperatures are expected to flirt with the melting point of water all day. It is grey, moist, foggy, the season of struggle, hope, and change.

Do folks have a preference what day the mix is posted? I am interested in any feedback folks have about the mix, the schedule, etc. NOTE: There are swears in the last song this week. I try to keep these work friendly.

Listen to and/or download this show! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally mixed the week of 3.7.14

NOTE: “The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” are generally mixed on Tuesdays and new mixes generally post on Fridays. The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Maybe Tomorrow – Samantha James – Subconscious
Spiral – William Orbit – Hello Waveforms
Teardrop – Massive Attack – Mezzanine
Destiny – Zero 7 – Simple Things
Alive Alone – The Chemical Brothers – Exit Planet Dust
Stay The Same – Bonobo – Black Sands
Under The Gun – Supreme Beings Of Leisure – Animatrix: The Album
Innocent – Q-Burns Abstract Message
Filthy – Saint Etienne – The Trip Hop Test Part One
She’s On The Train – Lionrock – City Delirious
Thou Shalt Always Kill – Dan Le Sac Vs Scroobius Pip – Look for the Woman EP

Comments on: "Play list, 3-7-14" (2)

  1. I don’t have a preference for when you post it, but I can tell you I typically download it on Saturday morning, as I am doing presently. If a new one isn’t available Saturday morning and becomes available, say, Saturday evening… I pretty much go all the way around the calendar again back to the next Saturday.

  2. Music is like a drug, for sure. Sometimes it cures me, sometimes it kills me!

    I enjoyed Gilligan’s Island as a child and wasn’t smart enough to wonder why they didn’t fix their boat.

Leave a Reply

