The Onion On My Internet Belt

Hats. I like them. I wear them on a very consistent basis and have for years. I think they are not only fun but incredibly functional. If I could make one trend happen it would be a return to stylish hats as de rigueur. That would be a sexy, sexy trend…

But I digress from the point of this afternoon’s remarks. This last week we 9that is to say my immediate family and I) took a trip to Goorin Brothers in uptown Minneapolis and due to the sale they were having ended up buying two new hats. I bought a “Maximus” which might be a little small but I am between sizes on that one, and a “Rancher” which fits very well. It’s a little too cold at the moment to wear this new fedora but that gives me something to look forward to as the weather improves. The brim on the Rancher is smaller than I usually wear but change can be a good thing. The crown is very good and the hat is soft and a great color so there is a positive balance.

According to the internet, National Hat Day was January 15th here in the United States so my hat purchases were well timed that way. I didn’t see anyone in person wearing any exceptional or interesting headgear. Maybe next year.

Kiddo got a new hat as well. We bought him a “Flipeez”. He loves it without compare. Mary, my wife, abstained from getting a hat. While disappointing, not surprising.

In music news The Crystal Method just released a new album. For Christmas my friend Seth procured me a signed vinyl copy. He sets the bar very high. I’ve given it a couple go rounds but am not yet acquainted with it in a meaningful way. When I am you’ll know.

Second groovy mix in a row. More thump next week.

Listen to and/or download this show! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally mixed on 1.16.14

“The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” generally streams live 5-6 pm Central Time, Thursdays on KUST.

If there is something that you would like me to base a mix on or a mood/theme suggestion you want to hear, just let me know in the comments.

NOTE: The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Inertia Creeps (Alpha Mix) – Massive Attack – Singles 90/98 [Disc 11].
Valdez In The Country – Donny Hathaway – Defected In The House unmixed by Louie Vega [Disc 3].
D Song – Bonobo – Dial ‘M’ For Monkey.
Never An Easy Way – Morcheeba – Who Can You Trust?
That’s What’s Happenin’ Tonight – Mocean Worker – Enter The Mowo!
I.O.U. (I Dub U) – Freeez – Paris Is Sleeping Respect Is Burning Vol. 2.
Married To Music (Sneak’s Bumpin’ Mix) – Dope Smugglaz – Perfecto Collection: The House (CD1).
Missing (Ultramarine Remix) – Everything But The Girl – Missing: The Full Remix [EP].
Live On the Main Stage (Loudeast Remix) – IB – Renaissance 3D.
Moon Watcher – High Contrast – Isles Of Wonder [Disc 2].
Spread the Love (Ft Demonica) – Chuck Love – Frozen in Minneapolis.
Same Ground (M.U. Express Vocal) – Astronauts of Antiquity – Same Ground 12” single.
Sometimes I Miss You So Much (P.M. Dawn Mix) – P.M. Dawn – Sometimes I Miss You So Much (UK 5”).
U R Still Ahead – Kushti – Late Night Beats: The Post Club Sound Of Britain.

Comments on: "Play list, 1-16-14" (2)

  1. Hats. I hate them.

    I mean, some hats look good on some people, but I can’t stand wearing one myself. My partner really likes hats on women, but too bad, I cannot oblige him in that particular fancy 🙂

Leave a Reply

