The Onion On My Internet Belt

One of the main issues with my ‘show’ as of late is that I go directly from my desk in the office to a small room downstairs in the academic building just adjacent. That small room that passes as a ‘radio’ studio that is often poorly kept and before I start on the mix I have to pick up after children or do mechanical maintenance. This offers little in terms of mental transition from work to fun. That means I am grumpy when I should by all rights be having a good time. This week and next week constitute a uniquely busy time of my work year. As such, I just skipped going to the studio altogether to mix my show. I did it at home. That was nice. And fun. Like it should be. This isn’t the official goodbye to KUST, but you’ll get more of the Country Breakfast Studios mixes than not from here out. What does that mean to you? Less of my talking. Much less. The posting schedule should stay the same.

This whole episode has me thinking about balance, work, creativity, the bounds and relationship between the two. As such, here are two articles as food for thought. The first is a link to a story about T.S. Eliot and his days working at a bank and how he saw that time and its relationship to his creative output. The second link is to an article in The Atlantic (oh how I wish I still had time to read the monthly print version!) about creativity, sleep, and the classic 9 to 5 work day.

http://therumpus.net/2012/01/a-peaceful-but-very-interesting-pursuit/

http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2013/12/science-that-proves-the-9-to-5-day-is-hell-for-creative-workers/282331/

This mix is mellow. Very mellow. Edging on ambient even. I needed to relax and this is the evidence of it.

Listen to and/or download this show! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally mixed on 12.13.13

“The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” generally streams live 5-6 pm Central Time, Thursdays on KUST.

NOTE: The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Exit Violence – Hive & Gridlock – Behold! Tenebrion.
TangoLargo – Lloyd Cole & Hans-Joachim Roedelius – Selected Studies Vol. 1.
Through The Sunlight – Carmen Rizzo – Ornament of an Imposter.
Secret Desert Find – Twilight Archive – Twilight Archive.
Send And Receive – Tycho – Past Is Prologue.
I Always Wanted You Back – Letherette – Letherette.
Sofa Rockers (Richard Dorfmeister Remix) – Sofa Rockers – Night In Space.
Masato Eternity – System 7 – Phoenix.
Aria – Delerium (ft Mediaeval Babes) – Poem.
FSOL Deseo Reconstruction – The Future Sound Of London – DESEO.
Feet Like Fins (Remix) – Cocteau Twins – Otherness.
Transgenic – Trifonic – Emergence.

Leave a Reply

