The Onion On My Internet Belt

In the last post I mentioned that the opportunity to meet comedian and author Aisha Tyler was very real. Well, loyal reader, that moment came to pass in actuality. I was totally cool the whole time*. She was as cool and nice as I had hoped. She signed a copy of her book “Self Inflicted Wounds” for me and even told my wife (Mary) to come on over so we could take a picture together. Yes, it was as cool as you would think. The entire “Wits” performance was fantastic. Our seats were to the far right as you are looking at the stage and in the front row. Just how close to the stage were we?

The seats Mary and I had for Wits on 11/1/13

THIS CLOSE!

In other news I had a another molar crowned this last Wednesday (tooth #17 for those of you into dental arcade nomenclature). It was not as fun as a good game of checkers would have been. The upside is that I can now eat and drink things that are below room temperature.

This has also been the opening week of the November Poem-A-Day challenge. This is the third year I’ve taken part. In order to avoid my most common stumbling block I’ve been writing mainly cinquains. Having a starting point is very helpful. The prompts that I use as my starting block are from poet (and nice guy on twitter) Robert Lee Brewer. He recently released a book of poems called “Solving the World’s Problems”. You should check it out. The prompts he posts are here: http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/poetic-asides

What does any of this have to do with this week’s mix? NOTHING! In an attempt to stay away from my usual tropes and gripes I’m just going to talk about stuff. See, it worked.

*I was as cool as I could be, which was polite-but-totally-an-all-nervous fanboy. I know these transactions are one sided so I try to say one or two things about what I like of their work and then say thank you. This time I blew it and actually said “I’m starting to really nerd out so I’ll close my mouth as to not say stupid things” (yeah, smooth…) and she replied that I was doing fine and she loved hearing from me and hey let’s get a picture together! I’m still swooning.

Listen to and/or download this show! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally broadcast on 11.7.13

“The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” streams live 5-6 pm Central Time, Thursdays on KUST.

NOTE: The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Fable (Message Version) – Robert Miles – Dreamland.
Come On! – Solomun – Northern Lights.
I’m In Love With You (City of Dub Mix) – BKS – I’m In Love With You 12”.
Dreams (The Red Underground Mix) – Gabrielle – Dreams 12”.
Love Me Right – Angel City featuring Lara McAllen – Love Me Right.
Diamond Jigsaw – Underworld – Barking.
Swedish Beauty / Diamond Life – AN21,Max Vangeli , Louie Vega, Jay Sealee , Julie McKnight – Until One (Deluxe Edition).
Song To The Siren (Did I Dream) [Fable Mix] – Lost Witness – Perfecto Presents Another World [Disc 2].
Water From A Vine Leaf – William Orbit – The Best Of Strange Cargos.
String Theory – Alex Gold – Back From a Break.
Beautiful Strange (Bedrock’s Ambient Beats) – Bedrock – Beautiful Strange [EP].

Comments on: "Play list, 11-7-13" (2)

  1. I like the refinement added to the new opening.

  2. Thanks. And thanks for noticing the “easter egg” as well.

Leave a Reply

