The Onion On My Internet Belt

I’ve been working since June to digitize my music collection. I’m about 80% done and 13,000 songs in. One of the benefits to this cataloging is the ability to have a better range and recall of tracks for the weekly mixes. This show is a good example of that I believe.

Last time I mentioned going to the MPR program “Wits”. The performers were Paul F. Thompkins and Yo La Tengo. It was a fantastic show! We had second row seats. YLT played “I’ll Be Around” and “Ohm” which happen to be my two favorite tracks from their latest album. I got to meet Mr. Thompkins after the show. He was as charming and graceful as I had suspected. He is a fine chap with an easy laugh and is dapper to boot. We have tickets for “Wits” again this week. I am hoping to meet Aisha Tyler after the show (she’s performing) and further hope to keep my cool (I won’t because I’m always a nervous fanboy). I’ll let you know how it goes next week.

Today is Halloween. Since there is a four and a half year old in the house, the imperative to get out early to do tricks and/or treats is very high. There is a fire station about half a mile from our place and we start the evening there. It’s loads of fun for the whole family (really!). This means that for the second week in a row you will get a version of the mix gloriously free of my ramblings because I have to turn and burn for home and not loiter on campus after work to mix music in a dark and arguably abandoned studio space though that would be apropos the holiday. If you love my voice, sorry. If you just want the music (yes, that first option was there for balanced prose only) then it’s a treat for you!

Listen to and/or download this show! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally broadcast on 10.31.13

“The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” streams live 5-6 pm Central Time, Thursdays on KUST.

NOTE: The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
The Funk Phenomena (Original Mix) -Armand Van Helden & Old School Junkies -15 Years [Disc 2].
Same Ground (M.U. Express Vocal) – Astronauts of Antiquity – Same Ground 12”.
I’m Not Afraid of the Future – Akabu – Jimpster Selected Remixes 2004-2008.
Undeniable Traces of Love – Blue Tonic World – Transcending Media Vol 1.
Auto-Erotic (Rotik Mix) – Dark Globe – Auto-Erotic 12”.
Busy Child (Uberzone Mix) – The Crystal Method – Busy Child/High Roller single.
Predict the Day – Ladytron – Velocifero.
Hands Around My Throat – Death In Vegas – Animatrix: The Album.
Chant Of A Poor Man [Mighty Quark Remix] – Leftfield – Rhythm And Stealth: Stealth Remixes.
Can I Be Free From Crying (The Underwolves Remix) -Bim Sherman – Late Night Beats.

Comments on: "Play list, 10-31-13" (3)

  1. I love Yo La Tengo.

Leave a Reply

