The Onion On My Internet Belt

My first inclination was to use this introductory space to wax philosophical about change, the Midwestern and parental tendency to take care of others before self, why hobbies matter, the difficulties of file management in the digital age, failure, benign neglect, the relationship of lubricants to wheels that have audible friction, and of course the adjustment of expectations in the face of larger patterns repeated disappointment.

But I won’t. Instead I’ll be brief and offer a handful of unassailable facts:
-It has been a solid five months between mixes and as such there are rough patches.
-After six years I have retired the old intro to the show.
-My iPod had to be reset to blank and that carefully curated collection of songs is gone (also six years old).
-I’m working to digitize my entire CD collection and am about 80% done. This has caused me to hold off on almost every music related project (including rebuilding the iPod and conjuring a new intro).
-There is a theme to this show.
-My plan is to be back to a weekly show but I can’t guarantee that.

Listen to and/or download this show! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally broadcast on 10.17.13

“The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” streams live 5-6 pm Central Time, Thursdays on KUST.

NOTE: The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Gas Stations and Restaurants – Letherette – Letherette.
Jets – Bonobo – The North Borders.
Hymn of the Big Wheel – Massive Attack – Blue Lines.
Lone Runner – Kris Menace – Feature.
Freeway – Dubtribe Sound System – Baggage.
Gate 1 (Original Edit) – Elvis Benait & Tony Gomez – Mark Knight Presents Toolroom Knights.
Fly – 2 Bit Pie – 2 Pie Island.
Beautiful Burnout (Mark Knight Remix) – Underworld – The Bells! The Bells!
No Stopping for Nicotine – Deep Dish – George is On.
Running From the Cops – Phantogram – Eyelid Movies.
Run Out – Memory Tapes – Seek Magic.

Comments on: "Play list, 10-17-13" (5)

  1. I’ve been working on digitizing my music collection as well. What a task. I did about half the CDs before I quit about a year ago (I really should get back to it but can never find the time) and I haven’t even begun to think about starting on the vinyl.

    • I crested 1130 discs digitized as of yesterday. A handful of those are from vinyl (maybe 20). There are + & – to burning cds from vinyl. If I can’t get the music but from the 12″, I’ll go through it otherwise I’ll buy an easier format. My relationship with vinyl is overly complex and yet based strictly on not being hindered by format. Also I own a lot of vinyl that is strange for the sake of strange. Its for looking not listening.

      • For me, vinyl is about aesthetics and also about sound quality. I’m importing my music (more specifically, my ex’s large collection that is no longer mine by right of marriage) into iTunes solely for the convenience of listening, and listening on the go. I don’t have a record player now, so less-than-optimal listening is better than none!

  2. Gave the new show a listen. It was a good mix and rolled right along. The technical glitches were minor from my perspective. The new intro is good, it feels familiar to me, but I can also see what you meant about a machine element. It plays real quiet in a car setting.

    • I built another new intro and ran it on the 11-7-13 show. Most of the same elements. See what you think of that one.

Leave a Reply

