The Onion On My Internet Belt

On Tuesday, Sept 27th, 2013, my wife and I attended the Depeche Mode concert at the Minnesota State Fair with our friends Nic and Sue McPhee. For all the years and all the things I’ve done at The Fair, this was the first Grandstand concert I had seen.

I’m pleased to report that our seats were very good (Section J, Row 14, which is in the first set of risers, left of center), the sounds was much cleaner and well managed than I expected (it always sounds awful if you’re outside the Grandstand walking around The Fair), and the performance itself was incredibly solid.

The crowd was a mixed bag due to a notable alcohol consumption and a lot of people in attendance who don’t necessarily care who the band is, because, hey, outdoor concert WOOOOO!

I ran into a couple folks who I hadn’t seen in a year or two, saw a couple people I know through Twitter, and generally enjoyed being outside and with my wife. The show was fantastic and I’m glad we were able to attend. A special thanks here to our friend Grace who watched kiddo for us!

The opening band was Bat For Lashes. Which reminded me a bit of School of Seven Bells. I think I need to pick some of their work up for the collection.

As usual, I kept a set list in my moleskine. I promised to share said list with a few folks so here it is. Now you can reconstruct the concert in the comfort of your own home!

Welcome To My World
Angel
Walking In My Shoes
Precious
Black Celebration
Policy of Truth
Should Be Higher
Barrel of a Gun
Higher Love
Understand Me
Heaven
Soothe My Soul
Pain That I’m Used To
It’s Just a Question of Time
Enjoy the Silence
Personal Jesus
*Encore*
Home
Halo
Just Can’t Get Enough
I Feel You
Never Let Me Down Again

Comments on: "Depeche Mode Set List, Minnesota State Fair, Sept 27th 2013" (3)

  1. Weathergrrrl said:

    Who is this mysterious person, Sue McPhee? *lol*

    Appreciate you keeping track of the play list. Great show with great company. Next time Depeche Mode are in town we should do this again!

  2. Depeche Mode playing at a state fair? My 80s teenage self is confused!

    By the way, Bat for Lashes, aka Natasha Khan, is a she, not a they 🙂

    • It was a hell of a show. While it sounds odd and if one could ignore the people who were clearly there for beer (which happens at bars, too) it was more like an amphitheater concert. Not a nostalgia show at all. I bet your 80s self would have been impressed by how good modern electronics made it sound. =]

      There was a full band on stage, so “they” was meant to give credit to all involved.

      Unrelated: Thanks for taking the time to comment so regularly. I do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

