The Onion On My Internet Belt

On Monday (July 1st [Happy late Canada Day to all my Canadian friends!]) I took a mid-morning trip over to the Minneapolis Institute of Arts to drop off my colored vinyl for inclusion in their upcoming exhibit “It’s New / It’s Now” because of all of my kind friends/coworkers/acquaintances/and well-wishers who voted for my collection!

Here is the official announcement of the collections to be included from museum patrons:
http://www2.artsmia.org/blogs/blog/2013/06/13/show-and-tell-everyones-a-collector/

More info here on the whole exhibit: http://artsmia.org/index.php?section_id=2&exh_id=4534

The exhibit starts on July 14th, so if you are in the Twin Cities, give it a look, won’t you?

If you don’t know what I am talking about in the above paragraph, check out this previous blog.
https://funkomatic.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/a-collection-and-a-hope/

While I was at the MIA, I took the time to swing by the Electric Fetus on my way back to work. If you haven’t heard of this place, it is a Minneapolis institution and one of the best music shops that I’ve been in. I usually go to both the MIA and EF on my birthday. Didn’t have the opportunity this year so this little trip in my work day had a little magic to it not only for getting to walk around a closed museum and fill out official museum paperwork, but getting to shop for music (even if briefly) during a workday.

Luck was on my side. The album that was playing in the store was a knock out! Each cut was fantastic. I asked the clerk what it was and he handed me a copy of “Keep Moving” by Andrew Stockdale. He is the lead singer of Wolf Mother. The album is a hard driving rock affair that reminds me of both Led Zeppelin and The Black Keys. It’s well produced and hard to not play on repeat.

Next up was something I had planned to purchase off of iTunes but it was staring me in the face

Two bands that I really like, back to back!

Two bands that I really like, back to back!

Lloyd Cole did an album a few years ago called “Plastic Wood” and while it is interesting, it is far afield from his jangle rock roots that most people know him for. “Selected Studies V 1” is in the vein of “Plastic Wood” and is an electronic album done with a German artist who has been in that scene for years. What sold me here was that the vinyl comes with a cd as well. I like records but they aren’t my first choice. I’m an audiophile after a fashion but I am way more concerned with getting to hear the music on my terms. Yeah, yeah, vinyl sounds great and I have four turntables, but I’m a modern man unhindered by format first and foremost.

So I already have a couple good finds and on a whim I checked the jazz section for an album that falls into the “If I find it I’ll buy it but I’m not working that hard…” category. You see, I wanted this not only for the music on it, but for the classic cover. Sure enough, EF comes through again and beyond reasonable hope they had the 1994 reissue of “The Atomic Mr. Basie”

From 1985, The Atomic Mr. Basie.  Classic cover art.

From 1985, The Atomic Mr. Basie. Classic cover art.

It’s from 1958 and was released on Roulette Records (which was later, if not then, a Mob front according to Tommy James of “Crimson and Clover” fame…). As far as I’m concerned all the best jazz was released between 1956 and 1965 and this is exactly in the range that I like. Damn, this was a hot trip!

Speaking of new music and colored vinyl…

My friend Damon hipped me to https://feedbands.com/ and I received my first record in the mail. Its by a group called The Vliets (rhymes with ‘fleets’) and it looks very good.

This is The Vliets release from Feedband.com. The colored vinyl is their hook.

This is The Vliets release from Feedband.com. The colored vinyl is their hook.

These come each month and include a download card. So a win for my colored vinyl collection and a win for downloadability. The album is 9 tracks and reminds me of mid-era Pink Floyd, so think somewhere between “Echoes” and “Dark Side of the Moon” but with a little more garage flavor and a stronger rhythm section. I like it, but I’m not sure just how much I like it yet.

Comments on: "Museums and Music (On A Monday Morning)" (1)

  1. What a great idea for an exhibit, and congratulations on being included!

    I am in total agreement with you on the subject of records. I am also an audiophile and appreciate good sound, but big marks go to downloadability and portability. I still have my vinyl, but I *love* being able to access music wherever and whenever I want so I have little nostalgia for the past in that regard.

    I do have nostalgia for music stores, though. They are rapidly going the way of the dinosaur, sadly. I miss that experience you describe above, of hearing something new and attention-grabbing playing in a store and discussing it with the clerk.

Leave a Reply

