The Onion On My Internet Belt

Let’s ruminate on Moments of Clarity for a bit. Are these moments, by definition, rare or are they common? Are such moments like dreams in that they are sharp and then turn to smoke and vanish under scrutiny? Are these moments just the tipping point where useless rules and ropes that restrain you buckle and give way? Can a moment of clarity only come about when there is a real silence and stillness?

Many times I have a sense of split occurrences, a type of duality of experience, when doing a show. Part of me is deep in the mechanics of construction concentrating on the nuts and bolts of creation. Another part of me is aware and interacting with the je ne sais quoi that allows music to affect us. In this show I never straddled the line into both experiences. So I’m not sure what you will hear. I know what I did, but that is something else.

As I readied the studio for broadcast the realities of the storage and retrieval of music snapped into focus for me and I realized that I have perfected a system that is now irrelevant for one physicality of music (cds), put one system out to pasture (tapes), and have purposely ignored creating a system beyond rough bones for another (records). I found out that our IRT department is going to be replacing our computers with ones that don’t come standard with a cd/dvd drive. I will need to invent another system and the ground work for that so far is an utter shambles. This caused a strange resonation in me, that above moment of clarity, and I thought “Maybe the time is nigh to approach these mixes differently in the build phase”. Time will tell.

Listen to and/or download this show! The Funkomaticjamatron Presents… Originally broadcast on 5.2.13

“The Funkomaticjamatron Presents…” streams live 5-6 pm Central Time, Thursdays on KUST.

NOTE: The show archives are generally ten shows deep. Beyond that, if the link isn’t active, the mix has been deleted to make way for new material.

Song – Artist – Album
Into the Sunrise (Ricanstruction Mix) – Little Louis Vega – Defected In The House (Disc 2).
Spread the Love – Chuck Love – Frozen in Minneapolis EP.
Da Bump (Ame Vox Remix) – Mr. V – Da Bump remix EP.
I Got You – Mocean Worker – Cinco De Mowo!
Nothing Is Impossible – Dubtribe Sound System – Baggage.
Further In Time – Afro Celt Sound System – Volume 3.
Destiny (Photek Mix) – Zero 7 – Ministry of Sound The Annual.
Love at First Sight – Kylie Minogue – Fever.
Waves of Change – Samantha James – Subconscious.
Sweetest heart – Above & Beyond – Group Therapy.
Disappear (D-Lerium & Faze Mix) – Josh Money – Past Present Future.
Dinosaur Adventure 3D (Funk D Void Vocal Remix) – Underworld – Dinosaur Adventure 3D single.

Comments on: "Play list, 5-2-13" (1)

  1. I listened to this one this past weekend too. I recall liking the beginning and ending songs more than the middle, which was just a bit lighter than the mood I was in.

Leave a Reply

