The Onion On My Internet Belt

As April is National Poetry month, I am going to call attention to this poetry related article that ran in my local paper (The Woodbury Bulletin) on Feb 27th of 2013.

What I want to say about the article, setting aside all but one comment*, is that this article proves to me that poetry is out in the world doing one the jobs that I hope it would be doing.

The tradition of poems such as Langston Hughes’ “Harlem” and Gil Scott-Heron’s “Whitey on the Moon” is alive and well. Poetry is out there getting in the hands and brains of young people and causing a stir. That is a good thing. I did some poking around and couldn’t find the exact poem mentioned but the article says it urged such things as a healthy mind and body and a sense of protective community. Those seem like pretty good values to me.

So, poets, stay alert. There is much work yet to do.

PoetryDoingItsJob

*The delicious and I believe completely unintentional irony that is the final paragraph of this piece. Humor continues to be one of the best tools for pointing out the emperor is naked.

Leave a Reply

