The Onion On My Internet Belt

If the photographic evidence of my life is a good guide, it appears that I have been captivated by the skyline (in this case, that of Minneapolis) since my high school days.  I started making efforts to photograph the skyline from different vantage points and at different times of day.  I don’t think my old Nikon FE and I got much to be proud of on film, but a few shots made the grade.  I even built a sculptural representation of a skyline that intentionally mimicked that of Minneapolis when, as a senior in high school, I took a sculpture class and became a little bit obsessed with building things.

This fascination has been a background visual noise until 2011.  That year I did, as a parallel and suggestion by my Dad, a “Picture A Day” project.  We started on Jan 4 and I didn’t miss a day.  What I found, when looking back at the entire series, was that I took a lot of pictures of the skyline.  16 times in the official count of the project it shows up.  I then went through the raw files and compiled every picture from the year of the skyline and it boils down to the fact that I took that same picture about 120 times that year.  This was greatly aided by the fact that I have, on my drive to work, a perfect opportunity to get that picture.  Not sure what I am going to do with all of those pictures, but the concept is still rolling around in my head.

One of the things that I love about the Minneapolis skyline is how easy it is to see from a distance.  One of my favorite views is from the east of St Paul.  If you are driving east on Highway 94, there is a moment, well before you get to downtown St Paul, where you can see Minneapolis shining in the distance.

Image

I was able to take this picture because traffic was totally locked up.  I’m not crazy.

Maybe it is the idea of what the skyline represents that I love so much.  The idea of a night life, of interesting and educated people living in a diverse mix, the industrious nature of the mind made manifest, the potential of it. 

Comments on: "mmm skyline i love you" (7)

  1. I love city skylines. I’ve actually seen the Minneapolis skyline once, but I was about 12 so I don’t remember much.

    • I’ve got a shot from my Dad of the skyline at night from 1972. I know you are too young to have visited our fair town that year at the age of 12, but the skyline would have been very similar then to your visit. I’ll do another post with a that ’72 shot and then my favorite from the 2011 “Skyline Project” as I have called it in my head.

  2. To be fair, Minneapolis has a gorgeous skyline.

  3. Exactly! And let’s face, all the photos are slightly different ….

Leave a Reply

