The Onion On My Internet Belt

After more than a decade of writing at monkeyrivertown.com with my best friend Seth, we have decided to wrap up that venture.

There is good and bad in that as there is in all endings.

While it seems perhaps counterintuitive to start a new blog with an old post, that is what I am going to do. The last post I wrote for MRT was the 1000th post for the site. Not a bad run I think. That post is the summation of 16 years of a music project I did with Seth’s help.

If you want to know a lot about me and the music I like, this is the perfect place to start.

http://www.monkeyrivertown.com/brains.php?ART=1000

It is a very long post, but summing up that much material takes time and space. On the plus side you will be rewarded with 13 hours of music if you listen to the MP3s imbedded in the article. I suggest you download them and listen to them in order at your leisure then go back and read the whole article. It will all make more sense that way.

There is also a gallery on flickr (I still share that page with Seth) of all the covers and credits together in reverse chronology. http://www.flickr.com/photos/monkeyrivertown/sets/72157632703514179/

Anyway, I am hoping to post something once a week in this space. I think with MRT I was always too concerned with a perceived mandate of quality because I felt like I was writing on someone else’s site. Even though that person is my best friend and we never argued about anything I posted, I hemmed myself in. It is a place I find myself in often through the years.

Look for mixes, random song links, me talking about stupid records that I own, talking about my experiences of being a father, or whatever else my vanity will allow me to post.

Leave a Reply

